We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reyes family at firestone store”

Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled away in Lavaca Bay in the friendly townof Port Lavaca, Shellfish Sports Bar & Grilleoffers a casual and relaxing atmospherefor locals and visitors alike.Our FoodSourcing our seafood from the Gulf, Caribbean, North Atlantic, and Pacific Ocean we aim to provide you with the freshest product available. Working with local purveyors and fisheries throughout, we pledge to provide you with product that pays tribute and respect to the hard working men and women who fish and work these waters.Our BarFrom Conroe to Fredericksburg we embrace the local flavors of Texas breweries with a variety craft beers. In conjunction, refreshing cocktails and the friendliest bartenders in Port Lavaca.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

my family and some friends went to eat at the shellfish last week. we were very impressed with the remodeling of the restaurant. the food was great and the service was excellent. we will be back for more.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rolando r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Our friends at Port Lavaca Firestone! Thanks for the wonderful review and for coming in to experience the new and improved Shellfish.
We hope we met and exceeded all your expectations and that we will have a visit from your family in the near future!

We look forward to having the new restaurant North 35 open soon so you can experience that as well.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Only Visiting the area on business we found (next to our hotel) this place about a year ago - just your average sports bar - Bud and deep fried anything - it was just OK....On a recent return to the area we stopped in "just for a beer". It didn't take long for us to realize we should settle in for the evening! Entering, we were immediately surprised at the change in décor - "definitely NOT the same place" we visited a year ago - everything has been refreshed. We were greeted with typical Texan charm and offered the Beer and Cocktail menu - again" NOT the same place" we visited a year ago. The Beer menu included a very good selection of up and coming Texas Craft brews, and a creative selection of cocktails. Every beer Tap was dedicated to local Craft brew! Who needs BUD? - BUT forget the menu - Find Carlos - a quick description of your finest preferences and he will select or create a beverage to make your evening memorable. For the adventurous - try the Gregory Martini - its a Grey Goose Martini with a sour front and spicy back door kick! If you're lucky - as we were - you can actually meet Gregory (He's a regular) - the inspiration for this amazing creation! The Dinner menu is uncomplicated and clearly focused on local fresh specialties. I had the Mexican Akaushi Burger - Akaushi beef on a ciabatta roll, pepperjack, guacamole, and jalapenos and a fresh mixed green salad - it was Brilliant!! The Akaushi beef is a perfect selection with focus on a regional specialty to elevate a standy-by menu item to a special level! If you like simple, but creative dining with a focus on local ingredients - drop in! All is well priced for the value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank khoppy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

WOW! We are glad you were next door and chose us to visit. Thanks for the wonderful reviews. It's always a great pleasure having guests appreciate the unique details of a drink , a taste for local craft beer and that food is local and fresh.
If you are ever back in our area, please come back and say hello.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I read the reviews before went and didn't know what to expect. But when I asked locals where they would eat if they could choose anywhere in town the answer was "Shellfish". I agree!
Not the BEST food I have EVER had but the Buffalo Legs were the best. They are not made with a Tabasco base so no vinegar taste. My daughter had the ribeye, she wanted to go back the next night it was so good.
EXCELLENT service! I asked a lot of questions and confused the food server. I was served pulled pork but wanted pulled chicken. She apologized with sincerity and promptly corrected the issue, but it was my fault! Wow!
Shellfish is upscale with a beautiful bar, lots of windows and a lot of TVs.
The entrance is at the back of the building. The alligator is at the back too!
The hours are not listed on the door. Which remember is in the back. The hours I found online weren't accurate??? Therefore we didn't get to eat there the second night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BBLaStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while traveling to the coast. Didn't expect much ( sports bar) but were delighted! Modern and clean with a nautical feel, looked new inside. Many television sets were not loud or distracting. We had grilled redfish tacos that were wonderful, and a fish burger that was the best ever! Fresh crispy fried filet. (Not the frozen kind) with hand cut potato chips. We were glad we found it on tripadvisor and gave it a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We thank you for the kind review of your experience. I hope the next time you are passing through on a fishing trip, you pay us another visit. It was a pleasure meeting you both and look forward to your return.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Feature was Crab cakes w/remoulade sauce, pasta & asparagus. Caeser salad was Huge (enough for two). Upscale design & decor w/attentive staff. Apparently just reopened. Reviews for most food period in this town poor. What a surprise! What a gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MalloryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Shellfish. We are so happy you had a great dining / service experience. It is appreciated that you recognize our efforts to provide fresh ingredients prepared in other ways than just fried.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing