We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports Bar? Or not? Who cares?”

Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled away in Lavaca Bay in the friendly townof Port Lavaca, Shellfish Sports Bar & Grilleoffers a casual and relaxing atmospherefor locals and visitors alike.Our FoodSourcing our seafood from the Gulf, Caribbean, North Atlantic, and Pacific Ocean we aim to provide you with the freshest product available. Working with local purveyors and fisheries throughout, we pledge to provide you with product that pays tribute and respect to the hard working men and women who fish and work these waters.Our BarFrom Conroe to Fredericksburg we embrace the local flavors of Texas breweries with a variety craft beers. In conjunction, refreshing cocktails and the friendliest bartenders in Port Lavaca.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sports Bar? Or not? Who cares?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I read the reviews before went and didn't know what to expect. But when I asked locals where they would eat if they could choose anywhere in town the answer was "Shellfish". I agree!
Not the BEST food I have EVER had but the Buffalo Legs were the best. They are not made with a Tabasco base so no vinegar taste. My daughter had the ribeye, she wanted to go back the next night it was so good.
EXCELLENT service! I asked a lot of questions and confused the food server. I was served pulled pork but wanted pulled chicken. She apologized with sincerity and promptly corrected the issue, but it was my fault! Wow!
Shellfish is upscale with a beautiful bar, lots of windows and a lot of TVs.
The entrance is at the back of the building. The alligator is at the back too!
The hours are not listed on the door. Which remember is in the back. The hours I found online weren't accurate??? Therefore we didn't get to eat there the second night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBLaStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    19
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We were impressed”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while traveling to the coast. Didn't expect much ( sports bar) but were delighted! Modern and clean with a nautical feel, looked new inside. Many television sets were not loud or distracting. We had grilled redfish tacos that were wonderful, and a fish burger that was the best ever! Fresh crispy fried filet. (Not the frozen kind) with hand cut potato chips. We were glad we found it on tripadvisor and gave it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for the kind review of your experience. I hope the next time you are passing through on a fishing trip, you pay us another visit. It was a pleasure meeting you both and look forward to your return.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Feature was Crab cakes w/remoulade sauce, pasta & asparagus. Caeser salad was Huge (enough for two). Upscale design & decor w/attentive staff. Apparently just reopened. Reviews for most food period in this town poor. What a surprise! What a gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalloryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Shellfish. We are so happy you had a great dining / service experience. It is appreciated that you recognize our efforts to provide fresh ingredients prepared in other ways than just fried.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a sports bar & grill”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The name is deceiving...its more fine dining or upscale bar & grill. Fine dining decor but not service or food. Staff and food needs to improve to meet the fine dining want-to-be atmosphere. Service was slow. Had to ask for my beverage twice. Was not offered water. Asked if I wanted dessert before my dinner was even half finished. More staff training. Had the coconut shrimp appetizer which was over cooked. Tango Mango Aoli was good but shrimp was tough. More training, more training, can't stress that enough!! When you walk in, based on the atmosphere and decor you expect a certain level of service that just wasn't there.... It has great potential but a lot of work is needed to get there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsalot6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, General Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We want to ensure that we are a family restaurant and offer food and service that everyone can enjoy. We have just recently reopened and your comments are valuable to our development. We also offer daily specials that resemble true sports bar food. Visit us again and please feel free to offer more of your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No longer offeres Sports Bar style food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

They changed the menu completely and no longer offer the hot tenders or a normal sized burger. The new burger is good, but very small and at $10 for it, one would assume they would get fries or a salad, but instead you get a handful of nasty Lays potato chips. Fried frog legs and "frenched" style chicken legs along with oysters and tropical fish is now on the menu. The restaurant no longer fits the "sports bar" part of its name, but now actually fits the "shellfish" part, which my family does not eat seafood. Extremely sad to see the tenders and burger go, since it was the only location in Port Lavaca to offer both along with liquor drinks. We used to eat there about once a week and drop nearly $100 each time and it was practically the only restaurant we would eat at in Port Lavaca. They have lost us as customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing