We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a sports bar & grill”

Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nestled away in Lavaca Bay in the friendly townof Port Lavaca, Shellfish Sports Bar & Grilleoffers a casual and relaxing atmospherefor locals and visitors alike.Our FoodSourcing our seafood from the Gulf, Caribbean, North Atlantic, and Pacific Ocean we aim to provide you with the freshest product available. Working with local purveyors and fisheries throughout, we pledge to provide you with product that pays tribute and respect to the hard working men and women who fish and work these waters.Our BarFrom Conroe to Fredericksburg we embrace the local flavors of Texas breweries with a variety craft beers. In conjunction, refreshing cocktails and the friendliest bartenders in Port Lavaca.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The name is deceiving...its more fine dining or upscale bar & grill. Fine dining decor but not service or food. Staff and food needs to improve to meet the fine dining want-to-be atmosphere. Service was slow. Had to ask for my beverage twice. Was not offered water. Asked if I wanted dessert before my dinner was even half finished. More staff training. Had the coconut shrimp appetizer which was over cooked. Tango Mango Aoli was good but shrimp was tough. More training, more training, can't stress that enough!! When you walk in, based on the atmosphere and decor you expect a certain level of service that just wasn't there.... It has great potential but a lot of work is needed to get there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travelsalot6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, General Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We want to ensure that we are a family restaurant and offer food and service that everyone can enjoy. We have just recently reopened and your comments are valuable to our development. We also offer daily specials that resemble true sports bar food. Visit us again and please feel free to offer more of your opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

They changed the menu completely and no longer offer the hot tenders or a normal sized burger. The new burger is good, but very small and at $10 for it, one would assume they would get fries or a salad, but instead you get a handful of nasty Lays potato chips. Fried frog legs and "frenched" style chicken legs along with oysters and tropical fish is now on the menu. The restaurant no longer fits the "sports bar" part of its name, but now actually fits the "shellfish" part, which my family does not eat seafood. Extremely sad to see the tenders and burger go, since it was the only location in Port Lavaca to offer both along with liquor drinks. We used to eat there about once a week and drop nearly $100 each time and it was practically the only restaurant we would eat at in Port Lavaca. They have lost us as customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mitzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Shellfish was closed in March for a reorganization, and it worked. They have an all new menu with real food, and not just fried food like the rest of Port Lavaca. This is something different. We started with a couple fo the speciality cocktails, and they were both good. They are making all their drinks with fresh ingredients, and the first one I asked for contained strawberries. I was informed that they couldn't make it because the strawberries they received that day weren't acceptable. I was highly impressed. We had the onion blossoms with homemade honey mustard sauce. They were crispy and flavorful. We also had the blackened Mahi and flounder. Both were cooked perfectly. The Mahi was especially good with a lot of flavor. The flounder could have used a little more seasoning, but it was still tasty. There are many more items on the menu we can't wait to try. There are several good wine, beer, and drink selections, and the menu is reasonbly priced. The most expensive item is the $24 ribeye. The service was a little slow on a busy Friday evening, but I take that as they were only open for five days, and are trying to work out the kinks. That is the only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating. It is so nice to see the staff dressed alike, looking professional, and working together to give the guests a great experience. We had avoided Shellfish in the past, but we will be back on a regular basis now. If you want the same boring, tasteless food you can find in most of the area seafood restaurants, don't come here. Thankfully, Shellfish now has real food with real flavor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GigEm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We are very happy to hear of your giving Shellfish another try. We too think the "redo" was a success but will continue to make it better and better. Its very refreshing that people can appreciate something that is actually fresh and a menu that isn't 100% deep fried.

Please stop in again and let us know how we are doing. Your feedback is very important to us.

Best to you and thank you again for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a fun day at the beach we decided to try the restaurant. We heard from several people it was beach front and had good food. Nope-not oceanfront. It had very limited seafood on the menu. If you wanted a piece of bread with your meal it would cost you an extra $1.00. You could get a baked potato for extra money. It was not worth the money so we left. I had someone from North Carolina visiting and was excited to show him good Texas seafood. This was not the place. We were very disappointed.

Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellfish2013, General Manager at Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We sincerely apologize for your experience. It's definitely not our standard to disappoint our guest. Please come back and join us a offer you the food and service you deserve.

Sincerely
Shellfish management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Must be off season. Selection skimpy, but nice ambience. Would go back during high season to try out other menu choices.

Thank truetexan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shellfish Sports Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing