We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Marcello's Italian in Port Isabel”

Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza is located in Port Isabel, Texas adjacent to our historic and renowned Lighthouse Square. Enjoy our classic Italian dining and coastal cuisine with old-world charm, casual elegance and a vast menu of hand-made pasta dishes, delectable seafood, pizzas and other Italian classics. At Marcello's all of our bread, pizza dough, sauces and dishes are made from scratch and we take great pride in our fresh, quality ingredients. We serve lunch and dinner daily. We look forward to serving you!
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Marcello's Italian in Port Isabel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Manager Paul Tully and his staff are the friendliest, most polite, helpful staff we have ever had the pleasure of dining with. Their menu of Italian, steaks, pizzas and seafood with a variety of appetizers, soups, salads, desserts and drinks is very impressive. But beyond the menu, the food is fabulous. I had the blackened salmon with lemon dill, which was the best I've ever had along with the pesto pasta and a caesar salad, with awesome obviously homemade dressing. And the italian margarita (what makes it Italian is the amaretto) was amazing. Although we live almost 350 miles from Port A, we'll definitely be back. We definitely experienced why Marcello's is listed as the #1 restaurant in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madonna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We all appreciate your comments and dining with us. We welcome you and all of our guests to dine with us in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future. Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Pier 19, and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    97
    29
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude - Management”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I purchased a Valley Central Coupon for a dinner for two. Expiration was expiring. We have homes in McAllen and South Padre Island. Planned to eat there Saturday night , but wife's mother had surgery Fri night in McAllen - so wife returned to McAllen with a plan to return Saturday PM, "some time". Well, you know hospitals - so it was after 7 PM and still in McAllen. So I said I'd order "Take Out" - eat whenever she returned to the Island.

Presented coupon to hostess and was told that they would not honor coupon - "Eat in Only". Hostess took to "manager" and order was denied. Having eaten at this restaurant, perhaps monthly, for years, I did not complain when a vegie was cool or other minor imperfection - but because of a technicality, I was denied.

Told hostess to tell manager I and wife would not (ever) return - and I mean that. With options like Gabriellas, Scampis, Sea Ranch, Liams - I can do without Mascellos, and their Manager.

I would also like a refund on my promotional coupon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Why is it so hard to accept the coupon was dine in only. Why do you think the rules should be changed for a coupon. We appreciate the business and welcome all the customers comments. I think you overreacting and should be upset with yourself as you clearly said yourself the coupon was dine in only. Really I can't believe you are posting and making an issue about something that is fully explained in the conditions. You are not entitled to a refun on our behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Near South Padre”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We never fail to eat at Marcello's when we go to South Padre Island. It's just across the bridge on the mainland (next to the lighthouse). For 20 years or more the food has been consistently good, despite a change of ownership. Our tastes are simple, so we can't comment on the fancier dishes, but we love the spaghetti with their wonderful marinara sauce, pepperoni pizza, and salad with their own Italian dressing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NKMtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We all appreciate your comments and dining with us. We welcome you and all of our guests to dine with us in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future. Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Pier 19, and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Had the Shrimp Bisque and Chicken Parmesan nice big portions good presentation .The staff was friendly and attentive very nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank NeoMatrix1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We all appreciate your comments and dining with us. We welcome you and all of our guests to dine with us in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future. Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Pier 19, and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best meatballs ever”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Loved it last year, tried under new management and the best meatballs and sauce. Best of service with Josie and Angelo. Have eaten Italian food from east to west coast. Who would of thought I would find the best in Texas?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LovelandPmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We all appreciate your comments and dining with us. We welcome you and all of our guests to dine with us in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future. Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch, Pier 19, and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marcello's Italian Restaurant & Bar on the Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing