We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Pirate's Landing Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family waterfront casual restaurant. We are a pirate themed style restaurant and bar on the water.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was actually really good! Service was average, but we were pleasantly surprised. It's not that anyone was rude or inconsiderate but it took a really long time to get our meals, but when they came they were excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3monkeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We all appreciate your business and comments. We are a very busy family restaurant. We apologize if your food delivery was longer than expected. Please join us again in the future and also try our other restaurants in the future. Sea Ranch, Pier 19, Marcello's and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    177
    85
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over priced, under quality”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Been here many times over the years as we visit S. Padre Island. It's never been remarkable but I decided to give it another chance. We went for an early lunch and the restaurant was nearly empty. Despite that our food took an exceptionally long time to arrive. Once there I was extremely disappointed in the food. I paid $12 for fish tacos that were probably the worst I've ever had. The fish was bland and the topping over spiced (salty, etc.). They came with a mango salsa which tasted like marinara sauce. The best thing on the plate were the beans and even then they were just so/so. In the end it was 50% over priced, 50% of the quality and took 50% too long. Skip this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We all appreciate your business and comments. We are a very busy family restaurant. We apologize if your food delivery was longer than expected. There is always a manager on duty to discuss and issues and get immediate results. Please join us again in the future and also try our other restaurants in the future. Sea Ranch, Pier 19, Marcello's and Laguna Bob's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere, not the food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited to eat at this restaurant! Our 2 boys love everything "pirate!" The decor is wonderful! The view is excellent! We really wanted to love the food, but we were unimpressed. The waffle fries were the only real winner at our table (and our youngest liked his spaghetti). Our oldest has a food allergy. The waiter answered my questions as best he could (even going to ask someone else), but it seemed like they were unfamiliar with food allergy issues. Very large portions. I'd recommend eating there for lunch and splitting your meal between 2 adults. We enjoyed walking on the pier after lunch and stopped by the Sea Life Nature Center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImABoyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are a fun all around family moderately priced restaurant. There is always a manager to discuss any issues or concerns you as a customer ay have. We hope you will dine again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place for families”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Fun place for a family - our service was great. Food is fine - sauce was too thin, fried items too greasy, but overall a fun and touristy place for dinner. We recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachmommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We all appreciate your business and look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants in the future. Pier19, Sea Ranch, Laguna Bob's, and Marcello's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food, overcharged”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went for a late lunch to Pirate's Landing.
Food was average, nothing special.
High priced based on location and pirate theme.
Paid over $70 for 4 in a party of 8 (15% gratuity added). The waitress took it upon herself to write INCLUDED in the tip field on the receipt, yet somehow added another $10 to the final bill totaling over $80. Can't believe she would do this on purpose, but I've never seen a waitress write on my bill before I sign it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pirate's Landing Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We all Thank You for your comments and business. The gratuity is added to parties of 6 or more as stated on the menu. You have the final option to approve or decline as a customer. We write included on the bill to avoid the possibility of a double gratuity for the customers protection. Possible the server pressed the 8 button instead of the 7 when closing out the final check. Possibly an accident. You are welcomed to call the restaurant 956-943-3663 and we can gladly correct. We assure we want a happy satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Landing Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pirate's Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing