We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Isabel's Cafe

Isabel's Cafe
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We heard rave reviews, but we're confused. The food was alright, but nothing special. A lot of simple breakfast foods. We can make those ourselves. The Mexican food we tried we've had better. Overpriced for what it is. Service was fine. Restaurant is cramped but clean.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Canfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendship
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good but...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This a very good restaurant. Came for lunch and had very tasty food. Price was good and the setting was clean and inviting. But the food at Manuel's just up the road is much better. No line at Isabel's but a 45 minute wait with a constant stream in. You can't go wrong with Isabel's but skip and head to Manuel's if you can.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy Cafe”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Small non descript restaurant but looks are deceiving since the food is fantastic. We had the combo lunch of enchilada, taco and burrito with rice and beans. We will definitely go back for more!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Special Spot”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Right near the Walmart. Solid breakfast, early opening at 6am, and a diner feel to the place. They take credit cards.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Our favorite place”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We have a house on the Island and eat at Isabel's often. For breakfast, the migas are very good. For lunch I get the contodo, with chili and cheese. The prices are extremely reasonable. We eat at Isabel's more often than any other restaurant in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dvandrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's Cafe also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Isabel's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing