We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my goodness, no.”
Review of Kiki's original - CLOSED

Kiki's original
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness, no.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed Kiki's in Brownsville, so we were delighted to find a Kiki's in Port Isabel as well. We love Mexican food, and we tried to love this place, we really did. We went a couple of times to give it a thorough shot, but no. The first time they got our order completely wrong. We don't speak much Spanish, and the servers don't speak much English, so we were okay with it and ate what we got. The next time we just pointed to what we wanted in the menu...the order was still completely wrong. And not tasty. The meat was very overcooked. I am starting to wonder if they just serve you what they have an excess of. Anyways, the staff is very nice, the drinks were good, meals are large quantities. But the taste is lacking. Will try other Mexican restaurants in Port Isabel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Viva Fajitas!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We tried Kikis for the first time last year and we enjoyed the food. This year we've been here twice. The fajitas are tender and tasty. I didn't care for the chicken so we asked for the parrillada to come with just fajita and ribs. The fresh limeade and pineapple drink is refreshing and delicious.

Great food and excellent prices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lil3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The family style meals are the way to go. We got beef, chicken, and sausage fajitas, and queso flameado. Ask for the green sauce. It is very good. We also had pico de gallo and the house red sauce that was HOT! The beef is a little tough but has a great flavor. Everything was really, really good. We took home enough for another meal! This is a very casual, laid back place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family friendly fabulous fajitas”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every year our family travels to South Padre and makew e the trip over to Port Isabel to Kiki's (usually several times). Order the kilo of Parrillada. It feeds a family of four for $20. Super tender, nicely seasoned beef served with amazing bowls of beans, grilled onion, fresh limes, fresh tortillas and endless pico de gallo. Add an order of guacamole and the meal is complete. Another option is the beef nacho plate, easily a meal for 2. Aguas frescas are a refreshing beverage option. This place is so reasonable that on our first visit we thought that there was an error on the bill! Great for take out too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NMcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiki's original also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing