We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular lighthouse?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Isabel Lighthouse

Port Isabel Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Port Isabel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can see the entire South Padre Island from atop this historic lighthouse, first lit in 1853. A replica of the lighthouse keeper's cottage is on the grounds.
Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Regular lighthouse?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have never been in a lighthouse before, so I have nothing to compare it to. I would say it was worth it for the kids & myself. It was very hot & stifling, the more as you get higher. Nice view. Do not take any bags or anything up with you; you need your hands to balance and make the climb.

We got to go on a special $1/person day; I don't know if I would want to pay much more. It only took a few minutes to climb up and see the view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    69
    43
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rain, rain, go away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We didn't get to go into the lighthouse thanks to rain. It isn't open on days when the forecast is likely for rain, even if it is no longer raining at the time you're there. It looks awesome from the outside, and the museums are open regardless of the weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank McKinzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A "different" place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had driven past the lighthouse several times over the past few years but had never stopped before. It was fun visiting this historic site. Anyone in reasonably good shape should be able to climb the stairs, although it does get a bit hot inside on a hot day. After you climb a circular metal stairway for while, you discover that you are not at the top. You transition to a narrower circular stairway and climb higher. When you reach a deck near the top, there are additional ladders that take you to the glassed-in area at the very top. There is also an outside balcony, but it was closed for repairs. Your legs may be sore for a couple of days after using using muscles you don't normally use.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice little lighthouse.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Love this little place. Saw a few families having picnics on the grounds and enjoying themselves very much!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAlexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Worth the $3 admission. Great views of the island and the bay. I would suggest that you go early in the day for that the light house isn't air conditioned and with the humidity, can become very warm inside while climbing the stairs. My boys enjoyed the walk up the stairs and down, but the preferred rolling down the hill outside to walking up the stairs and appreciating the view from the top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravlingTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Isabel Lighthouse also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Port Isabel Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing