We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was tasty and a large portion!”

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food was tasty and a large portion!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had calamari appetizer, and I had the blackened fish tacos. Both were very good! They don't give you any dinky tacos either. It was 2 large homemade tortillas with 2 large pieces of Basa fish in both. The fish was not fishy tasting at all--which I always prefer.

The restaurant was very clean and nicely decorated. One other nice tidbit-the price was great ($10 for the tacos)!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    121
    32
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very bland food”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our first time here even though we are locals. Ordered migas and pancakes. The migas was just eggs and tortilla strips. Very dry, very bland. Most other places add onions, green pepper and jalapenos and provide salsa for the top. The pancakes tasted like they were made with corn, very gritty. Did not taste like a pancake at all. It was all crumbly and gritty. Overall, we like flavorful, spicy food and this was not it. Service is very slow also. First and last time here, too many better places to eat in this area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny31991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great waterfront place for breakfast. Lots of menu choices. Excellent service. Very family friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmcadams57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“famous place to eat”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are looking for fancy, stay away. The food is good, They specialize in very large shrimp which can be seen as you walk in. You may have to sit at a picnic table with other people, but you can have a good time meeting new friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertShroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three time winner!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is third of al s restaurants that we have eaten at. Food good service good. Nicer restaurant than padre island location. Menu more refined I had ceviche with fish and shrimp. Good nothing special. Husband had shrimp and scallops and both were huge! Very good and a fabulous view of the water. I personally prefer the casual island location but both have good food

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumbeauxtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing