We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, Crowded place”

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
McAllen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Crowded place”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Crowded at all the times but food is worth the wait, prices are very reasonable, the waitress are friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rumari73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your patience, thé waiting line some times is unpleasent but as you mentioned is worth it, we apreciate your business , and also your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    121
    33
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Fish was the best!!!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The family in Harlingen took us to this restaurant. We ordered Fish and fries, about $10. for the regular order. Some of us ordered the same thing but we could mix it up and have shrimp, scallops, clams(?) or crawfish. I had the fish and shrimp and salad instead of fries. The shrimp was ok but I'm not a real shrimp lover. The Fish was so GOOD!!!!! And so was the clam chowder. The atmosphere was 5-star and the serve was 5-star. If you visit Padre Island it is a must but try it inthe not busy hours. The Family said it is very busy at lunch and supper hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethniblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I would like to thank thé family that showed you thé Way , and also to you for giving us thé oprtunity, i'm very sure you'll Côme back,thanks for your visit and thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Historical Decor and Good Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I liked the collection of historical photos that line the walls of this restaurant. They tell the story of the railroad and beginnings of commerce in South Texas. The atmosphere is casual, but a step up from some of the other local and Island establishments. Can't quite put my finger on it, but the place didn't seem as crowded or the clientele as raucous as other restaurants offering the same seafood fare. Perhaps the tables are further apart, making it easier to have an intimate conversation without overhearing the next table's conversation. We had the signature Crab Cakes, Blackened Snapper, and Fried Shrimp. The sauce on the crab cakes was delicious. Food was served attractively and hot. I did not give the restaurant five stars because of the hostesses. Instead of waiting until they got back to the hostess desk, they were yelling back and forth when a table became available. Very annoying for those guests that are waiting. Some two-way radios or ear pieces would solve this issue and make for a more enjoyable visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your business and also for your honest but necesary critique , i do apreciate it,that's what helps us get better at what we do .
Thank you again, and please Côme back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss Dirty Al's Pelican Station”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our meals were excellent. The server was wonderful and helpful with the beverage selection. Did I mention the view? All and all a great meal with a splendid view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjalexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It looks like got you hooked, in à good sense of course , that's the Kind of expérience we want our customers to have ,we hope you Côme back thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST Seafood”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yummy seafood, with great service!! Prices were very reasonable. We had a party of 6 and the place was packed but we had our food in record time. All of us had different items from the menu and we all thought everything was yummy. Wish they would have had outside seating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariettaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments please Côme back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing