We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good”

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had the crabcakes and stuffed jalenpenos for an appetizer, and it was great. The oysters on our platter were small but tasty. The view of the bay was pretty while we ate. Our server brought high chairs for the twins, and helped me wipe them down with clorox wipes, the chairs were clean, but I am afraid of the flu this time of year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kemper Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We apreciate your bussines and your comments, thank you for stoping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    121
    33
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate here. Atmosphere is beautiful. Service was perfect. Great waiter. But food disappointing. Bayou fish. So so. Hamburger average. But yet bill was higher than all of other meals on island. Appetizer of fried zucchini was only good food item. Good fresh taste and nice size portion. Won't rush back. Used to be better food. Am afraid food quality has gone down from past years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them all wether they are good or not so good like yours,it helps us do better and we hope that if you come back have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stoped in for a lunch, had a seafood platter, was very good as always, not too expensive, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit we are happy that you did enjoy not just your food but the whole experience please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Got To Be Dirty Al's for Fish”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dirty Al's never disappoints. If you catch something on Bay Fishing trip they'll cook your catch. If you don't ... order the fish and pretend you did. It is always fresh.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your visit for being good customers and for your good coments we hope see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

excellent food, service very good,excellent sea food,reasonable drink prices,very good selection of food

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We sure appreciate your business and glad not to disappoint our great customers please comeback ,thanks for your comments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing