We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The management listened to my concerns after the last stay, offered us a free weekend in an efficiency or free night in a one bedroom. The service was much improved and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We like ocean view rooms for the peace and quiet. You will get checked in quicker if you book a room...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are pleased that we could make amends with one of our long time guests. We appreciate your post and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 339 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Love staying here! Short walk to beach and near anything in Port A. Coffee in the AM.
311 is great but needs a bigger TV. Sitting on the porch looking down the beach, day or night, is sooo relaxing. The hot tubs are great anytime of the day! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Room 311 was great but needs a bigger TV!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayneamoondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue making your stays at Sandcastle enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The sanndcastle is right on the beach.

I stayed in 319. It is one of few efficiency in the inside 'horseshoe' with a really good view of the beach, pool, and the boardwalk to the beach. Nice balcony.

The room was clean and had cute decorations. Each condo is individually owned so they are all different. It has a kitchenette, ( stove, oven, mid size fridge, pots, pans, blender, coffee maker etc)

24hr front desk. Staff is really friendly. Close In town.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We paid $165/nt. for a one bedroom at the end of October. Pretty pricey, especially considering the place is an outdated DUMP. The room looked like the Golden Girls were carted off to the nursing home and it hasn't been cleaned or updated since. The whole facility is in a grubby timewarp, except for the pretty-looking pool area. The kitchen supplies were yucky or nonexistent. Linens were old (dark green, thinning blanket on bed). The decor was horrible; a bizarre tiny glass chandelier featuring one burned out lightbulb hung over the dining table. Did Blanche pick that out? Bedroom was a cave. Thin walls. Smelly mop and broom standing in bathroom linen closet. I could go on and on. Close proximity to beach and a nice view doesn't make up for a dirty, outdated rip-off.

Room Tip: I doubt there is one. Ours was "recently renovated." HA!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We apologize for your poor experience at Sandcastle. We appreciate your comments and will work diligently to correct issues to create a more pleasing stay. Most of our rooms are much nicer than the one you described. We are in the process of upgrading our standard requirements for furnishings and decor.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the third time that we have stayed at Sandcastle. The pool is lovely and clean. The surf is a short walk as the condos are beachside. We selected an efficiency as there were only two of us. The front of the refrigerator was spotted with rust! In addition there was a problem with the guest that was below us (not the condos fault) however the night front desk person phoned us at 3 am Sunday morning and woke us from a deep sleep laughing and accusing us of throwing things off the balcony! Sunday evening the guest below us came to our door and rang the bell and accusing us of slaming doors and beating each other!! I couldn't believe my ears! We won't be staying there again. I did speak to the manager when she arrived on Monday just as I was checking out and she did refund the Saturday charges which is what I asked for. From now on I will only stay at a place in Port Aransas that has a manager on-site at all times. So my relaxing weekend was not to be.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here anyway, ask for the luxury room and ask if the manager will be onsite dur...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love-traveling-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

As the new General Manager of Sandcastle, I would like to thank you for your comments and apologize for your poor stay. We are working with our staff to train them how to handle issues like you experienced with more professionalism. I am glad we were able to at least honor your request and refund your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel May of 2011 for my Dads funeral service. We requested ocean front veiw. It was beautiful. Hearing the ocean off your balcony. The staff was nice. I would deffinatly come back if they asked. :0)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are glad we could create a pleasant experience for you during your time of difficulty. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family was excited about our 3rd stay at the Sandcastle in Port A. We were just staying one night to show our French visitor a great hotel and a good time. We tried to make a one day reservation and they said no... we had to call at 10am, the day of stay, to see if there was availability. So we drove to the resort and were there by 10am to reserve a room. They said check in was at 4pm, but we could use the pool until then. By 2pm, we noticed other guest were checking into their rooms, by 5pm we were still without a room even after asking from 3pm on if it was ready. By 5pm NO ROOM. How can you charge $400 for a room someone hasn't even checked into by 5pm. We demanded our money back and left. The front desk staff was young, rude and oblivious to the fact we had 3 sunburn children that were exhausted. As we left, 2 other guests were complaining about the same thing, no room. What a TOTAL disaster !!! Ironically we were thinking of purchasing a one bedroom at the Sandcastle, forget that notion!

Room Tip: If you have ever stayed in a nice resort, you will be totally dissapointed in the lack of service at...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewBraunfelsArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortABeachguy, General Manager at Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

As the new General Manager of the Sandcastle, I would like to apologize for your poor experience. We are working with the staff to create a more professional atmosphere and raise the standards of our customer service. Thank you for your comments and, while we cannot change what happened during your time here, we appreciate the feedback so that we can ensure that does not happed again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center

Address: 800 Sandcastle Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5903
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: $90 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Condominiums & Conference Center is located in Port Aransas and on the Gulf of Mexico. Rental units consist of a few types of rooms to select for your next vacation to Port Aransas. The room types are as follows: efficiencies, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and three bedrooms beachfront condominiums. Amenities include two tennis courts, fitness center, large peninsula pool, 2 large hot tubs, fish cleaning building and free wireless Internet service. With the beach just steps away, you will enter into vacation mode as you pass our turtle pond on the way to get your feet in the sand! Discover your intimate vacation or corporate retreat at the Sandcastle Condominiums. The Sandcastle Conference Center is another one of our property features that sets us aside from any property in Port Aransas. This building is a fabulous host for weddings, corporate meetings, reunions, luncheons, retreats, receptions, sales meetings as well training sessions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Condominiums And Conference Center
Sandcastle Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas
Sandcastle Condo Port Aransas
Sandcastle Condominiums Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing