We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, surly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Shores Condominiums
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view, surly staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We rented unit 505. For the price, it was a little underwhelming. The chairs on the balcony (there is a lovely view) were cheap, flimsy and half were broken. The place could also use a coat of paint. The staff working the afternoon of September 27 were particularly surly and did not make us feel welcome at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ct1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Gulf Shores. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you had during your stay. We have taked steps to improve and welcome you back for another visit to enjoy our propery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
52
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day girls' getaway in Port Aransas and stayed at Gulf Shores Unit 501 - this is a beautiful condo with great views and amenities. Unit 501 has an updated, modern feel with private front and back balconies and a washer and dryer in a real utility room (with fun beach gear - umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards). Everything was in great condition. It's on the 5th floor on the end of the complex - the views of the Gulf are just spectacular and it was really quiet. Would definitely return and highly recommend. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CarrieInAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about Gulf Shores. I am so glad you enjoyed your "girls getaway", and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edna, tx
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Gulf Shores July 10-13, 2013 in room 201.

PROS: I called at 2 PM and asked if we could check in early and the girl said yes our room was ready. (normal check in is at 4PM) SO THAT WAS WONDERFUL!! WONDERFUL views. Our room had a private balcony in the front and back and that was very nice. Loved the balcony (facing beach) furniture because they were high chairs and table. The pool is nice, but a little on the small side. The Jacuzzi was nice but one day was "milky" looking. Location is wonderful bc it was so close to the beach! They provide plastic chairs to take out on to the beach so that was nice.

CONS: As SOON as we walked in all we could smell was a FISHY/URINE smell........ I went down to the front desk and asked for a candle and they gave us a half empty bottle of glade. All of the AC vents were very rusty. Room décor is outdated. A TON of lights were burnt out including balcony so that wasn't fun at night. Owners of this unit desperately need to come in and "fix" it.

We've stayed in room 209 several times (but this time it wasn't available) and it was wonderful! If we come back we WON'T be staying in 201 again


Cons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolefalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Gulf Shores. We take every effort to address all issues raised by our guests. All of our condos are individually owned and I have addressed your comments with the owners of the condo we are working to make improvements to the condo. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will continue to be a loyal guest of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Unit 402 and was very pleased with the place. Looked just like the pictures. It was very cute, cozy and clean. The only thing I didn't like was the pool area. Having two young kids with us swimming in the pool was something they were looking forward to and we were hoping for something bigger and better. But overall, the place was pretty quiet for relaxation and we didn't have any issues with the place or the staff, they were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
The management team at Gulf Shores appreciate your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were going to stay here, but decided we were going to Destin instead (because the rates were actually better there). When I called to cancel 45 days ahead of time, we were charged $45. The paperwork indicated that we would be charged $25, but then the girl says the "processing fee was non-refundable...and it DID NOT say that on the paperwork. It is the principle of the matter and we are glad we are not giving Gulf Shores our business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are sorry you canceled your reservation and didn't get to enjoy what Gulf Shores has to offer.
We do state on our website however, that the processing fee is non-refundable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April & couldnt have been happier.Unit 604 is in very good shape & well equipped. The beds were very comfortable & the sound of the ocean will definetly have you sleeping well. Our original unit req'd balcony repairs & we got bumped to another unit at the last minute but we sorted it out with the management to everyones satisfaction. Its a nice quiet location , stop at Port Aransas IGA for groceries on your way & the place is like home. Common areas of this complex are due for an upgrade & the baggage carts need solid rubber tires but this is an excellent location to decompress. Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words about Gulf Shores Condominiums. I am glad you were able to "decompress" and relax during your stay here!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We take an annual trip to the beach with a group of friends, so I got a chance to see several condos. The ones on the 2nd floor look right out on to the beach. And if you get an end unit, you have both ocean facing and bay facing balconies, which is nice if you want to sit outside for sunrise and sunset. We stayed in 508 which provided a great elevated view. It was recently remodeled and is beautiful. King size bed in the bayside room, and two twins or larger on the ocean side. There are windows all across the ocean side. Has a long balcony with seating for 6+. We were up every morning to watch the stunning sunrises over the ocean. Beautiful. The condo itself was classy. It has 3 large flat screens, coomfy chairs, wi-fi, large new fridge, 2 bed/2 full bath (one with water jet tub). The location is about 5 miles south of the town of Port Aransas. The beach is easy walking distance from your room. My only negatives are that the shower water pressure is not so good and it would be nice to have a port-a-potty on the beach near the condo. I will return.

Room Tip: Be sure and review the rooms online. Quality can vary. End rooms provide a bayside and beach side b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSResort, General Manager at Gulf Shores Condominiums, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am very happy your enjoyed your stay in 508 while you were here. We hope the next time you visit your stay will be just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#20 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Condominiums

Property: Gulf Shores Condominiums
Address: 6021 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4854
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*11/1/2015 Gulf Shores is Under New Management* Gulf Shores Condos in Port Aransas, TX hosts 52 units that all have beach views. Gulf Shores is the closest to the water of any of the units on the island! Each unit is individually owned, and decorated and maintained by the individual unit owner. Pictures of each unit can be viewed online at Gulf Shores Website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing