We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay! :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Port Aransas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Irving
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western and appreciated Kara and staff. What we loved most was being close to the beach! Our girls could walk to the beach , a few blocks away., maybe 5 or so.
You have to remember that this is a culture trip. This is not the Caribbean ocean. The town has its own laid back feel to it. For Texas, this beach is great! This beach is cleaned daily and there is a caring lifeguard there. This is very important since not all beaches are cleaned daily ! You will need to pay $12 to park near the beach.( the sticker that you are given is good all year for most the beaches around this area). It is easy to get stuck in the sand at this beach when parking your car so be careful.
Take lots of sunscreen. You may want to buy your own large umbrella , or portable awning to take with you . If not, it is $25.daily to rent a large umbrella. It is needed if you spend the whole day at the beach which we did and loved it!
Drinking lots of water helps to keep headaches away when spending hours at the beach!
The beach is nice in that it is 3 hours closer than South Padre Island if you are coming from Central Texas area which we did . In other words, you can make it to the beach in about 8 hours! That is great for Central Texas!
We enjoyed traveling down to this are by the divided highway and the free 5 minute ferry. The area of Aransas Pass and driving into Port Aransas does not look the best.
However, it was a geography lesson to see the coastal region of Texas, sand dunes, etc.
Bring your own plunger for the bathroom. We saw several outside of rooms. You have to fix the toilet should you have minor problems . This is true for many modern water efficiency toilets.
We liked utilizing the wash/ dryer near the pool. We loved the pool!
For the area, thanks to trip Advisor reviews, we were glad that we chose Best Western.
Also, we appreciate the Best Western hotel policy that allows senior citizens to be classified as 55 to get a discount on rooms! This helped! You do not have to be an AAA member. This applies to all hotels!
We appreciate the kindness of Kara to book our next Best Western hotel as we continued our travel and for coupons for area events.
The hot breakfast was nice !
There are jelly fish at times in this beach area. There is a repellent that you can buy for this. Our daughter got stung , but the very kind and helpful life guard put on alcohol and meat tenderizer which helped.
All in all, we loved the beach! It was a great vacation! We are looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    184
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
298
309
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel July 17-20/2010. I would have to agree with KurtHa's review, that pretty much sums it up. We did not have a problem with the AC, it is noisy but we are used to that and you need the AC on in South Texas in July.

Staff were great and very helpful and the in-room internet was great but bring an ethernet cable with you,. This and the Holiday Inn down the street are the only hotels I would stay in if in Port Aransas again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was just the nicest place. The rooms were large, clean, very comfortable, and upscale. It was much more than I expected! I have a bad back and just had knee surgery. I was glad to have a very comfortable bed! Great night's rest plus a nap!
The breakfast was wonderful. My grandaughter loved the waffles. My brother was able to catch all the golf game on the TV. And the place is a close walk to the beach. We were here for a family reunion and would recommend it to everyone. The staff located and saved an heirloom photo I left in the room after checkout. I'm so glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Villa is in a perfect location to beach, food, shopping. They had a nice staff at the front desk. Very helpful. Pool area was great since that is where I most of my time when I wasn't shopping. The grounds are beautifullly maintained. A nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisher601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The outside of the hotel and the lobby look really nice and updated but once we opened the door to our room we were transported back in time 30 years. Although it did seem really clean it was very dated and the AC unit was very noisy. The lady at the front desk was very nice and friendly and the continental breakfast was fine. Overall it was okay, price was really good but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Five4Fighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We picked this hotel because of its rating on tripadvisor. The first impression of this hotel is excellent. It’s located only a few blocks from the beach, and very close to everything in Port A. The outside looks impeccable and inviting. The lobby looks spacious and the check-in went without any problems. The rooms however have obviously gotten a little less recent attention than the common areas. They are not bad or dirty, but look a little dated. A big plus is the presence of a large fridge and a microwave. We found the bed to be comfortable, and everything appeared to be clean. Breakfast was continental with some mass-produced pastries, bagels, and the option to make waffles. Overall ok, but not great.
The only reason why I will not stay here again is the noisy AC unit. With the AC running it is almost impossible to listen to the TV (unless you increase the volume, of course). If you keep the AC on at night it most likely will wake you. Yes, you can turn it off, but this is South Texas, so it does get hot.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KurtHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

WARNING!!
Their beds are terrible.
Ours was as hard as a rock. I might have well slepted on the floor, at least the rug would have given me some cushing.
This is the second time I have had a bad bed at a Best Western.
I won't be be using anymore.

Terry
DeSoto, TX

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.7 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#12 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Port Aransas

Property: BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Address: 400 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5707 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Port Aransas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Villa Hotel Port Aransas
Port Aransas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing