We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value for money, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific value for money, great staff”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This was our second stay at the Best Western Ocean Villa. Ignore the silly name. This place is a really good deal. Rooms are ordinary concrete-box hotel rooms, but pretty clean and well cared-for. Plumbing, lights, etc all in good shape, and A/C was close to new in our room. Solid wireless internet available, no problems and no captive portal hassles. Staff is very very friendly. Grounds are nice and kept pretty clean, which is a pain in Port Aransas with the constant wind and sand etc.

The "breakfast" room is kept open all the time, with the coffee machine always running and the fridge stocked with milk, cream cheese, butter, etc. The staff offered us anything we wanted at any time from the whole stock of breakfast supplies (muffins, bagels, etc). With three kids to feed this was a pretty awesome feature.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointypointypointy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    195
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
323
333
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We booked one day at the Best Western Ocean Villa with the thought that we'd extend it if we got there and liked it. The day we booked (got the best price through the Best Western site internet rate) the temps had been in the 70's - by the time we got there for Christmas eve it as in the 50's! We didn't extend because of weather - but we will certainly be back to this hotel.

I had to call the desk several times for directions enroute - and the lovely gal there (Sue I believe - british accent) was wonderfully patient with me - hahahah. When we made it in - about 5 on Christmas eve - we checked in, grabbed some hot coffee from the breakfast bar, and unloaded our luggage quickly so we could hit the beach in daylight. Our last minute crib request had been taken care of and baby had an already made up place to sleep when we walked in the door. That was so very nice.

The room was large and tidy. No mustiness at all. We had a dorm size fridge, a microwave, and a very efficient heating/ac unit at the window. We had a king room and it came with a loveseat and coffee table for us to have our meals. There were plenty of towels waiting - and a small assortment of soaps/shampoos. The bathroom was clean and neat. There was also a brew by the cup coffeemaker on the desk. Everything suited us well.

We'd brought a cooler full of food as it was Christmas and I didn't anticipate seeing anything open. We had plenty of room for everything - and still baby had room to run around and explore. She loved opening and closing the closet doors and climbing onto the loveseat. :)

The hotel is just 3 blocks from the beach - and completely walkable - in warmer weather. There was a good stiff breeze blowing that had us piling into the car again to get to the waters edge. We spent about an hour at the beach - wrapped up tight in an assortment of beach towels, jackets, blankets, and sweaters - and then headed back in to the lobby to fetch some more coffee.

The breakfast was plentiful and there were the hot waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereals, pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juices, and coffee to choose from. Lots of tables and chairs - and A Christmas Carol was playing on the tv. There were several families there and everyone wished each other a Merry Christmas. Good start to a beautiful clear/cold day.

We asked for and got a later checkout for Christmas day as we wanted to go try the beach again. All the staff were so nice, friendly, and helpful. I watched a groundskeeper digging into the corners of the buildings to get all the leaves out - and I must say the grounds were spotlessly clean. The staff here obviously enjoy working here and have pride in the place.

This was baby's first trip to the ocean and we'll certainly come back here to enjoy the wide white powder beach that has lots of bird life and seashells. We'll stay at the Best Western Ocean Villa - it is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The accomodations are spotless, the welcome area inviting, the staff beyond gracious. Four stars at a two-star price - which didn't matter as we are on expense account. You could not do better on Port Aransas and, having stayed at the Omni in Corpus, you can't do better anyplace nearby! We could stay anywhere we want to, and we want to stay here, and will, again and again. Cannot recommend too highly, and trust me, we're VERY picky. These folks bend over backwards to make you feel at home. Kudos to people who know what "hospitality" really means.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litlbitmorluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a few days vacationing in Port Aransas and a fantastic stay at the Best Western Ocean Villa. We were both extremely impressed by the great room, the gracious staff and hosts, the perfect location, walking distance to great restaurants, and the wonderful service. We enthusiastically recommend this place to anyone traveling to Port Aransas or the Corpus Christi area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harper_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We decided to take a quick trip to the coast and our biggest stroke of luck was finding Shannon (owner) and her staff running this Best Western. When we asked if they had some rooms that allow dogs, Yes! When we needed late night restaurant info, Yes! When I asked if it was possible I might swim later in the evening, Yes! When we asked for a late checkout, Yes! We cannot recommend this hotel more strongly. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean pool, and our room was just fine (the sofa was a nice feature). There's even a lending library and game room. We're so glad to have found them and we'll certainly return asap (short walking distance to the beach was a plus).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimberley_Lavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went on a spur of the moment trip to the beach. Port Aransas was a wonderfull place to relax. Typically don't stay at beach hotels. They are usually musty and not well cared for. We enjoyed our visit and found ourselves wanting to stay another day. Took a room at the BW Ocean Villa. We found the room clean and comfortable for a beach area hotel. Room was not too musty smelling and the air conditioner worked very well. Room could be more tropical and beachy. The staff was extremely friendly. Close to public beach, shopping, and dining. We would stay at the BW Ocean Villa again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The first stay was with my best friend and our children we had a so much fun going to the beach and returning to nice cool swim in the pool.
The second stay was with my husband and our kids, both times we had a great time.
We have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family and will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#9 of 20 in Port Aransas
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Port Aransas

Property: BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Address: 400 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Port Aransas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Villa Hotel Port Aransas
Port Aransas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing