We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel experience in Port A”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A good hotel experience in Port A”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here on a Groupon deal in December and will plan on returning. Great little value-priced hotel. Clean! Friendly staff in the lobby. The continental breakfast was fresh and had many choices. The only criticism - a strong, medicinal smell in the room upon our arrival. Somehow, the smell seemed to dissipate quickly. The room had a firm king-sized bed, a couch, and coffee table - it felt like a suite. We did not expect much from this deal, but we were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    196
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
334
336
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I spend about 70 nights a year in hotels and motels throughout the country. This property was among the best I have visited this year, and that includes the brands that charge $150 to $250 a night. Spacious, clean, bright, and everything worked. Staff was friendly, helpful, and service oriented. Breakfast was fine. Sure, there are always things you can find fault with (only the towels and an uncomforable sofa), but, hey, I have those kinds of problems at home. I was happy to see that there were serious efforts to remodel, refurbish, and repair during our off-season visit, because that shows management is getting ready for the busy season and is interested in reinvesting in their property. This is how to operate a property for the long haul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skepsoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thanks for noticing. It has been a busy winter of maintenance. All of the bathtubs and furniture have been refinished, the bathroom chrome has been replaced or polished, the pool has been re-plastered, and we are almost finished brightening all of the rooms with fresh paint. Our staff is staying busy deep cleaning and training to continually improve their customer service skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Check-in person very pleasant, changed our room to ground floor due to a mobility problem. Reported a light out when we went to breakfast and it was fixed by the time we finished our breakfast and returned to our room. All areas clean and the biscuits and gravy in the morning was great. Liked the fact breakfast was served til 10:00 so we could sleep in and still enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
We serve breakfast from 6AM – 10AM daily to accommodate fishermen and vacationers alike. Just ask the night before, and we are always happy to open breakfast at 5AM or earlier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Booked this place through a bargain website, paid too much for what we got. The towels were thin and discolored. The bathroom had mold on the wall and the shower faucet did not work properly. We did not try the breakfast so can not comment on that. No major problems but just not worth the price. I agree with other reviewer, this place is more in line with a 1.5 to 2 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Our goal is to provide a clean, friendly, and safe environment, where families can relax comfortably in their rooms and socialize at the pool, game room, or picnic area between trips to the beach or the many great restaurants in town. From your description, we failed to provide you the most basic item -- a clean and well-maintained room. This is not my expectation, and I apologize. Daily, our housekeepers work hard to clean and inspect the rooms, followed by a supervisor who double checks each room before it is released for check-in. If you would be willing to call or email me, I would welcome the chance to learn more about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had never been to the area and try to use Best Western as much as possible. This BW did not disappoint. Clean rooms, great breakfast area and very friendly staff. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area attractions and gave us great ideas for restaurants. Would definelty return. Within walking distance to the beach or rent a golf cart and drive - it was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
We are always happy to help with restaurant and activity recommendations. While at the desk, ask for a copy of our customized restaurant map showing over 30 local eateries within a mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a clean, simple Best Western with reasonable amenities, but it is not a 3-star hotel. It is in the 2- or 2.5-star range only.

Front desk staff was friendly during my stay. My room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The linens were good quality, as were the toiletries. Wi-Fi was reasonably fast. I was amused by the analog TV in the room, but it worked well enough for an overnight stay.

The pool was clean, but I didn't use it since the Gulf is just down the street. The premises were clean and well-kept too. The included breakfast was served in a spacious room and featured a variety of foods. I didn't feel the need to get breakfast on the road afterwards, which made me happy.

Overall, the Best Western Ocean Villa is a nice motel at a reasonable price. Just don't expect too many frills!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and found our staff friendly. We work hard so that every guest feels the same way about their stay with us.

It turns out that one of the online discounters uses positive guest ratings, rather than amenities, to increment a property’s stars. Since we don’t have a full service restaurant or conference center like a 3-star hotel, I have worked with them to freeze us at 2.5 stars. I hope this helps set better expectations for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Great place for the money. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning. The staff is super nice and the owner lives on the property. The rooms were clean. Our son (6 years old) loved the game room. It was close to the beach and there are showers to clean off before you go to your room, which was very nice, since we didn't want to wait in the shower line at the beach. The pool was clean and there were towels provided at the entrance/exit. Although we only used the pool once. It was to hot. But that's not the hotels fault....that's mother nature. All in all it was a very nice place and we would stay again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momma_cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoceanvilla, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Aransas, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
I’m glad your family enjoyed your stay. We are located 3 blocks (0.3 miles) from the beach. It is an 8-10 minute walk by sidewalk or a very short drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 20 in Port Aransas
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Port Aransas

Property: BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
Address: 400 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Port Aransas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Best Western, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Villa Hotel Port Aransas
Port Aransas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing