We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amelia's Landing Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
TX
Level Contributor
256 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I would recommend this place. It isn't the nicest place ever, but clean and they take good care of you. Location is also nice with easy access to one of the main roads. Beach is about five minutes away. We took our granddaughter who had a place and loved the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
56
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Benito, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family just spent a weekend at Amerlia's Landing. The rooms were very comfortable, the pool was a great place to end the day. The continental breakfast delivered to our rooms was delicious. The personnel were helpful and the grounds were immaculate. I have been a travel agent for 25 years and will recommend Amlia's Landing. Ideal location too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelandycwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trip to Amelia's at best was disappointing. To begin, the touted mom pop personal touch hotel that was newly remodeled had shabby accommodations. Our bed was terribly uncomfortable, the a.c. wasn't working properly and our refrigerator didn't cool the room. The furniture was garage sale finds.The next morning, we got our "special breakfast" delivered to our room. The muffins were the Big SAMs Walmart brand while the juice was a tiny 4 oz texsun can. How is this better than a hot waffle? I addressed my issues with the staff regarding the room and was told that everything would be taken care of with the exception of the bed, which the staff person person advised was a new pillow top mattress and went to say that her husband likes a really firm bed while she prefers a soft bed, but as long as he's comfortable, she's happy. When we returned that evening, the room was still hot, the fridge not fixed. That pretty well sums up our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We take every review seriously, but there are four things y'all need to know about this review:

1. The room this guest stayed in (the Wright Brothers Room) has achieved a satisfaction rating of 3.88 on a scale of 0 - 4. (We survey every guest during their stay.) That is a 97% approval rating for that specific room.

2. The person who wrote this review booked on-line with a third-party travel agent, and then tried to cancel inside of the 72-hour cancellation policy. When informed that they would be charged one night if they canceled, the guest begrudgingly said "Well, then I'll use the room."

3. The reviewer booked late. As a result, all of our new double-queen rooms were already taken, and she was assigned The Wright Brothers room -- our last available double queen room. That room has been redecorated, but is NOT one of our brand new rooms. That said, dozens of people have stayed in it this year, as recently as last night, and loved it -- as is borne out by the satisfaction ratings.

4. The bed mentioned in the review is less than 2 years old. I have tested it out, and could find nothing wrong with it. It's a pillow-top Serta. (The reviewer personally told us that their spouse loved the bed.) Same goes for the air conditioner -- it is running cold and no one else has mentioned a problem. (We checked it during their stay, and could find no discrepancies. The unit is 19 months old.) The little dorm fridge in the room has been replaced -- the rubber seal was bad, and was allowing cold air to escape. It still kept food and beverages cold, but could not make ice, so we replaced it.

To sum up, other than replacing the fridge after they checked out (which was our first opportunity, as there is no "refrigerator store" on this island) the room is EXACTLY the same now as it was when they checked in. And 97% of the guests who have stayed in it have rated it "Excellent".

In our humble opinion, this guest was upset about not being allowed to cancel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great little Hotel right in the Heart of Port A. The rooms are fresh and clean. They are a bit small but other than that it was great. The location is the best on the Island it only takes minutes to go anywhere on the Island. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Ac also keproom very cool which is always a big plus at the beach!!Showers were also very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank analisasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Overall experience of this motel was great. We stayed two nights here. We stayed in the Tigers Room. Nice a/c, bathroom, beds, breakfast and pool. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. The showers could really use the CURVED shower rod though. This would make the tub feel more roomy to the customer. The a/c kept the room cool. Breakfast was a small can of apple juice, blueberry muffin and a fruit cup. Nothing fancy, but good. The pool was ok. I never met or spoke to the owners while I was there but I have read plenty of reviews on their kindness. Never experienced it for myself. We hung up the 'donot disturb' sign and we were not bothered at all. Our last two days in Port A were great. Then we headed up to Rockport to the Lighthouse Inn where we stayed our last 3 nights on vacation. Would recommend this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swsjls97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Personally, we are quite tired of the rather sterile environment of the "chains" and found Amelia's a great alternative. Nothing fancy, mind you, but clean and comfortable for our couple of nights on the Island. Can't beat the kindness and attention of the owners and it is obvious they are working very hard at continuing to bring this property to the best level they can. Not an easy task for an older place but most admirable.

Our stay was hassle/problem free and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #18 at the end so we missed any sort of nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RockyRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel has everything you need really, location is great, breakfast was good, and there was a pool. The rooms are old with wood paneling and our queen bed was uncomfortable. The TV was nice as well as the fridge. I also enjoyed the little porch area to sit on during the rain. I'd say it was a decent room/price for the location.

As for the service, right off the bat we were not impressed with the lady who owned the place as she noticed our dogs barking in our car when we arrived. She must have been having a bad day. She was quite abrasive, "we do not allow loud barking dogs." Mind you, our small dogs had been couped up in the car for hours and just wanted to get out. We look much younger than we are so I'm sure she just thought we were unruly kids with no respect for others. She then made sure we knew that there were no refunds for being asked to leave due to barking dogs. I completely understand that, but as a first impression "welcome" it was terrible. She eventually warmed up to us the next day after we talked about flying planes in the military. We didn't have any issues with our dogs barking throughout our stay.

This was our 3rd trip to Port A. and now that we are based a little closer (5 hours) we hope to do many more trips. We've stayed on base, at America's Value Inn and now Amelia's. America's Value had a more updated room with more space for pet friendly rooms. We are still looking for that perfect spot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjhoneck, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
With regard to this review, it is important to note that we place guests with animals in our oldest rooms. These rooms have not been remodeled yet, and will naturally have the oldest, least valuable furniture.

We love dogs -- we own one -- but animals can destroy a hotel room in minutes, and we're not going to put one of our newly remodeled rooms at-risk.

At Amelia's Landing we set a VERY firm tone with pet owners. No one wants to stay in a room next to barking dogs, and unfortunately we have had situations where pet owners parked their dogs in a room, and then left for the beach -- all day. Needless to say, the poor animals barked incessantly -- it's not their fault, nor do we blame them. However, that doesn't mean we expect our other valued guests to suffer for them, nor will we tolerate them.

The guest who left this review had two dogs that were barking loudly as they pulled into the parking lot. Needless to say, we immediately made it clear to them that this behavior would not be tolerated, so that they could make other hotel arrangements if they so desired. We would much rather send a barking dog's owner down the road (and lose the money) rather than aggravate all of our other guests.

We have been told numerous times by guests who do not travel with animals that they VERY much appreciate our proactive (and firm) pet policy. We have also been told by pet owners that our policy is a common sense approach to a delicate issue. We do not intend to change it.

If you have questions about our pet policy, please feel free to contact us.

Blue skies and tailwinds,
--
Jay Honeck
Owner/innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.5 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#13 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia's Landing Hotel

Property: Amelia's Landing Hotel
Address: 105 N Alister Street, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Harbor Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amelia's Landing Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia's Landing is an aviation themed boutique hotel in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. The hotel has finished renovation in 2015, with all new HDTVs, beds, unique historic artwork and memorabilia, pool, hot tub and propane grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Amelia's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing