We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite place to stay in port a”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel and Condominiums
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have requested and gotten condo #201 for the past two years and we are so lucky to have found the perfect vacation home. It's very clean (thank you, Sherri) has a nice big COOL bedroom with a wonderfully comfortable king sized bed, and all new appliances in the kitchen. Living room faces the gulf with a wall of windows that catch the sunrise every morning. Walk less than a block to the beach and about 30 minutes into town. It's just a great condo that I would recommend to the most particular people and the price is absolutely right. They allow us to take our guard cat, Melli, and she lays in the windows all day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank americantravelers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We rented the penthouse and a 2 bedroom for a girls getaway. The place was built late 60s-early 70s of cinder block to withstand hurricanes I'm sure. It's basic. None Of the hotel rooms are designated non-smoking but I think some of the condos are. I didn't notice smoke in penthouse or 303 and Im sensitive. The housekeepers are very friendly but the lady at the front-desk wasn't the friendliest, though she did answer our questions. Warning, the office is very smokey smelling-ugh! You can't get extra bath towels but they will give you extra pool towels. As for the condos, they have everything you need except for a blender. So bring your own if you make frozen drinks. Beds are comfortable enough, the rooms didn't smell musty, and we didn't see any bugs. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator, so pack lightly if you rent the penthouse. It does have a big sundeck looking over the beach but bring some beach chairs as there are only 2 up there. The decor hasn't been redone in a while so it's a little out of date, but who cares if you're going to the beach. There was some small wall damage in a few areas that needed to be repaired, soI hope now that high season has ended that they might take care of that. Overall, fun stay, right on the beach, can listen to waves from the deck, all the necessities and still really close to town and restaurants. Great budget place!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielaKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My family and I have stayed at this motel for four (4) years now and still think it is the best (fall & winter rate) deal out there. Very comfortable mattresses!, clean rooms (even for being on the beach), pool, laundry facilities on-site (drying time is +/- one hour for each $1.00!), and just a walk down the drive to the beach.
We had read one comment about bed bugs, but we saw no evidence of them at check-in. Still we followed the sound advice to wash and/or dry everything in hot water/heat upon our return home.
Only negative comment: several of the women who work at the front desk didn't live on the island and therefore didn't know the best places to eat (Shells & Moby Dick, for two), or know about general island life (where to find the best seashells-San Juan island, hours for the shops, etc.). Some flyers were available in the office. A big display would be better.
Also, free wi-fi is available ONLY in the office area. With cable TV, the beach nearby, and the fact we don't take our computer on vacation (gasp!), it was not a big deal to us.

Room Tip: The room we reserve is called the Triple room which has 3 full-sized beds (oversized?) and a futon i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I decided to take a last minute, end of summer trip to the coast with my teenage son. The Sea Side motel was one of the very few places left with vacancies. I chose it because of the photos from their website, however they were much nicer than the room itself. They may have been taken a few years prior and do not show the wear and tear.
When I called to make the reservations, I was told that the last room available had just been vacated and was being looked at by maintenance but would be ready by the time I arrived.
Everything appeared to be in working order but the room had not been changed for a new guest, just "cleaned".
The room was dank and the "carpet" felt moist. The chain latch on the door was broken and the curtain track was rusty, making it hard to open and close them.
The sheets on the bed were ill fitting and wrinkled. There were long hairs in the sheets and on the pillow cases that were not mine or my son's. There were four towels on the vanity; two bath towels that were the size of hand towels, two wash towels, and one hand towel. All were supposed to be white but were dingy gray; also with the same colored hair that was in the bed sheets. There was an extra blanket, folded and on top of the clothes rack that looked as though a dog had slept on it and dragged it on the floor. The towels as well as the sheets did not have that freshly laundered look....they seemed as though they were used, dried, and re-folded. YUCK. The complimentary toiletries looked like they were recycled and old.
The bathroom......The shower was stained brown at the bottom and had the plastic non-slip mats that were also brown with the same mystery hair as the sheets and towels (shocker). The shower curtain was covered with soap scum and hard water spots. The toilet bowl and seat were surprisingly some what clean, however the tank cover had blackish looking mold trailing down the front.
Unfortunately, there were no other vacancies available so we stayed. We made a trip to the local grocery store and got cleaning supplies. We sprayed down the bed with lysol and slept on top, fully clothed and used our own blankets. We also sprayed the floor but didn't walk on it without shoes. We used clorox wipes throughout the bathroom, but still wore shower shoes. Fortunately we had our own beach towels to use as bath towels.
The only positive thing I can say about this place is that it is located footsteps away from the beach and it's pool was clean.

Room Tip: try to make plans as far in advance as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bluemayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Really great staff that goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is a short walk to the beach and you can see the ocean from outside the motel. Beds were very comfy and the rooms pare pretty clean but what do you expect being right on the water. House keeping is a little off, nothing we coudn't live with, Rates are good and we will back for years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Only feet from water and inexpensive. Comfortable beds and everything works. Just learn the rules, i.e., 1) housekeeping is ONLY at 9:30; 2) if you leave ANYTHING on the bed, they will not make it; 3) they only change your sheets every 3 days; and 4) you will have to ask them to vacuum. The people are very nice and we enjoyed ourselves. If you are going for the beach and not a luxury resort, this is the place to go. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is our second stay and we really enjoyed it. The staff are friendly and helpful anf the hotel is within walking distance to the beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a pool, picnic area with grill, and laundry facility. Ice for your cooler is available at the office for $1 per bag (cheaper than the store). We stayed in 2 double rooms, but larger & smaller rooms are available. The only drawback was the lack of an in room coffee-maker, but we took our own. Coffee is available at the office, I just prefer to have my morning coffee in my room. The rates are very affordable, especially in comparison to similar properties on the island. This place is great for families traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caldertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.7 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel and Condominiums

Address: 841 Sandcastle Dr, Port Aransas, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel And Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas
Seaside Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing