We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Music, sea breeze, relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Bar

Back Porch Bar
132 W Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4030
361-749-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 76 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Music, sea breeze, relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Back Porch is a great place to have a drink outside and enjoy live music. Very casual atmosphere, so throw on flip flops, shorts and a t-shirt and you are good to go. Feels like it should be in a Jimmy Buffet song. It can get crowded so don't expect a romantic atmosphere; be prepared to get to know the people sitting next to you. Heard the place was just sold; hope they don't change it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2thfairy89410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sun
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The essence of Port A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can't beat the Back Porch for lots of activity. Locals, tourists alike all flock to the this outdoor bar on the pier at the water's edge. Beer's cold, service is great & you can't beat the fresh air, live music and a dolphin or two swimming by. Doesn't get much better & always on my list when in Port A. Great new outdoor furniture this season too!

Only one question ~ since when does a beer brewed in Texas become an 'import'? Seems like a lot of places in town consider an in state brand to be an 'import' when it comes to pricing. Gotta admit it's worth the extra buck but 'import' come on...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, OK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Port A is definitely a world class drinking town. And our favorite place is the Back Porch. They have great music and any kind of drink you want. Next door is the Harbor Grill and it has the best fish sandwich on the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This bar has a wonderful atmosphere and probably can make you any drink you want. Great ambience watching the fishing boats come in. Lots of locals and tourists alike. Its outdoors so can be hot but definitely a place I would go back to. One of our favs in Port A. No food at bar but available next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziq2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bartenders aren't chick friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband & I arrived just as the band was ending at midnight, but decided to hang out because the marina view is great & it was a nice night. The crowd was starting to depart, but when we first arrived the bar was still pretty busy. I noticed all female bartenders so I told my husband he ought to order the drinks. Sure enough they got his drink order a few minutes later. We sat down for a while & by 12:40 we were ready for round 2 for drinks, considering there were only a few people left & the bar was dead so I went up to order. I stood at the bar for 8-10 minutes while 3-4 bartenders walked by me numerous times, avoiding eye contact. I even told one I needed a few drinks when she got a minute. I used to bartend so I know how it is, but there was no excuse for them ignoring me & their poor service, it wasn't busy, I was polite & not belligerent. The only thing I can think of is they don't like hot women patrons. Tr another bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Back Porch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing