We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Over-Priced - Mediocre Food”

Fins Grill and Icehouse
Ranked #16 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
362 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Way Over-Priced - Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our visit to the Corpus Christi area. We ate inside since it was very windy and the temps were dropping. My wife ordered a burger without the bun because she has a gluten allergy. I ordered the shrimp po-boy with fries - they wanted to charge me extra for substituting cole slaw for fries. The other person in our party ordered the crab cakes & slaw. They brought the food out and they had the bun with my wife's burger. All they did was take it back to the kitchen and remove the bun. There still was a chance of cross contamination. The food overall was just average. The prices on the other hand were out-of-sight. There is no way the value of the food outweighed the prices they charge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bohste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    173
    132
    68
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Stopped at Subway on the way home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bought the Family Shrimp for two ladies and myself, along with three individual sides. $37 later we hungry. Tried to buy two half pounds of the family sides and they refused. Will not go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Take your fresh catch here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a full day private charter we took our fresh dorado and Spanish mackerel here for dinner. We were given choices of how we wanted it prepared (grilled, fried or blackened). We chose half grilled and half blackened and it was served with grilled vegetables and French fries. The fish was cooked perfectly and served family style. We ate out on the patio in early September, and the setting was pleasant. Summary: all the fish we supplied was served to our table, it was very nicely prepared, reasonably priced, and a wonderful, casual venue!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fins - Great Food - Plenty To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fins has great food and you better prepare to take half of it home with you... The servings are huge. Be prepared to wait for a little while if you get there at peak times. You can sit inside or out on the patio overlooking the bay area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We eat at Fins Grill and Icehouse yearly. The food has always been excellent as well as the view from the balcony. I recently had the coconut rum shrimp and it was outstanding!! There hamburgers have always been excellent as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traviswd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins Grill and Icehouse also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fins Grill and Icehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing