We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a helpful and polite staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
seguin, tx 78155
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a helpful and polite staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The stay was great, w/nice clean and large rooms. The staff is very polite and helpful, manager Melanie Nixon was also awsome w/our needs during our stay on October 4, 5, 6th. The holiday inn has easy access to the beach w/in a block away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpurkerson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello tpurkerson123! Thank you for your 5 star review! We think Mel is pretty awesome too! Hope to see you again on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    104
    29
    15
    19
See reviews for
123
71
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a recent family outing, we needed a couple of rooms in Port Aransas for only 1 week-end night, but condo's require a 2 night minimum, therefore, we booked 2 rooms at the Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean, comfy, and the A/C worked really well. The hotel was approximately 3 blocks from the beach, so it was easy to get to. The staff was very friendly and very responsive if needed. The breakfast bar was generic like most suite type hotels, but they had a lot to chose from and even found myself enjoying it. Like most beach hotels, I thought it was a bit over-priced, but you are paying for the location! The hotel is in a good location, making it easy to get to restaurants and the beach. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Adam P! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the easy access to all of the wonderful things Port Aransas has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay met with expectations. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous. The room and the bathroom were spacious and clean. The bathroom had a shower stall but no bath tub. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room.The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The pool could have been bigger but who care when there is an ocean just a short drive away. The only issue we had was that our room overlooked a lumbar yard. Thankfully there was no noise. After checking in and settling in the room, it was nice to get a welcome call from the reception asking if we needed anything and if everything was alright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new2tx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
new2tx11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to be your hotel of choice for your next vacation to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have kid suites for keeping parents sane. Hot breakfast has lots of choices and you are right by the beach! In room fridge and micro are a bonus. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and available.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Camgray1!

I am pleased top hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend a few days at the coast in Port Aransas. Our suite was fine with an additional room with our sofa, fridge and microwave. Had plenty of space, and a very comfortable stay at the HI Express. It is just a few blocks to the beach and we were able to leave our chairs, towels, etc... in the car and just get in to ride down. We were able to park very close to the water and really enjoyed a few days of sun and surf!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello nab800! Thank you so much for the kind review! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

So we didnt want to pay $350/night for a condo, or $500/night for newer looking townhouse, so we opted for a good ole American chain Hotel. What could go wrong right? I called 4 days before hand to book a 1 bedroom suite and was quoted $149/night. Confirmed booking, thought we had a good price as published priced was $169/night on their website. when checking in, we were given just a room with two queen beds, not a suite. So hoofed it downstairs, they said "nope, you booked just a double queen room, but can give you a suite for $179/night. So that's $30 more than we had expected and $10 more that was published!!! WTH! No apology, just a Mexican standoff. Meanwhile some woman hollers out from an office, just give it to them... OK so, new room given to us. Plastic key card doesn't work. We were placed on the 2nd floor and low and behold we have heffalumps staying in the room above, and half a village in the room next store to us (I wondered if they got charged for having more that 6 adults and 8 kids staying in the one suite). Powdered eggs for bedfast. Noisy plumbing which kept us up until 1am due to heffalumps taking late night showers. So to keep our blood pressure down, we dont say anything,dont ask to be moved to another room. When we checked out we were charged $169/night not $149 as we thought. But at that point I was willing to pay extra just to get out.
OTW pool rules not enforced, crowed hottub with people smoking and drinking! (And no suprise, but no pool towels left out).

Room Tip: If you must stay insist on on a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AvidTraveller1962,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We work hard to create memorable guest experiences but it is unfortunate that this visit was a dissatisfaction on many levels most especially with the condition of the room you were given and if the level of service received was not up to standards. I shall forward your comments to our team to consider for enhancements needed on site.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a quick trip to the beach for us (myself and 2 teenage girls) at the end of summer. I chose this hotel because of my club membership and the location in spite of some of the negative reviews. First of all I knew that the service would not be up to Holiday Inn Express standards because their club members are to be greeted in a specific way and this was not done. The room was as I would have expected except the beds and bedding. The bedding was definitely worn and not up to the standards. And the bed was not standard for Holiday Inn Express. I have been a regular in these hotels for about the last 15 years. I found the people at the front desk to be less than friendly and helpful. Both printers were apparently out of ink in the business center when I need to print a document and the front desk person just said "sorry" when I asked him if he could print them on the hotel computer (5 pages of work documents). The breakfast was standard but the setup was not; therefore, there were long lines on a weekend. A simple re-arrangement with more cabinetry would solve the traffic flow problems. Everything was crowded together on a shorter than normal countertop. The addition of some portable units along the wall at the door would solve the crowding. I was less than impressed about the pool area. A couple were making out in the pool in front of several young children and my daughters and no one from the hotel was making walk-through's to assure safety and appropriate behavior. I will likely stay here again because of the location - about 3 blocks from the beach and a very easy walk and a very safe area with good parking but I hope the management brings the hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standards. For an example I would have them contact the Holiday Inn Express in Pittsburg Kansas where I stayed a couple of weeks ago - it was a 5/5. And FYI management - don't ever be proud to display a 4 rating from Trip Advisor. The 4 rating lets people know that you have some issues. Display the rating when you get a 5.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor where the rooms face out to the parking lot or to the pool. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeananne56132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jeananne56132,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the service you have received which fell below your expectations and the bed conditions has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Address: 727 S 11th St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing