We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We paid $240 a night for a Queen beds suite with microwave and fridge. Room was pretty cool (temp) and normal for such a high traffic area. Bedspreads and sheets were updated, flat screen tv's in both rooms. Do not expect ocean views!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We will definitely look into making our breakfast area a better experience.
Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked through a third party using airline miles, so can't even remember the price. Called right away and spoke to a very nice front desk person who put us on the first floor and next to a family with whom we were traveling. No buckets for our kids as another reviewer mentioned, although I saw a bunch behind the desk the next day (maybe they save them for weekends or rewards travelers?).

Pros - the pools are great! Salt water pool connected to a wading pool and there is a hot tub next door. The kids loved it. Only a minute drive to the beach - buy a parking pass from the Stripes next door for $12.00 and it is good through the calendar year. Good breakfast with lots of options. Our room was clean and cool.

Cons - the staff seemed overwhelmed. Housekeeping said they would supply us with fresh towels and they didn't so I had to ask the front desk. The towel rack at the pool was usually empty. I had to ask someone at the desk to turn on the pool lights one night because somebody forgot. I asked a front desk person where to get raw oysters. His response, "I don't like seafood." Thanks, that was very helpful. There is what looks like an outdoor shower head for rinsing off, but none of the staff knew how to turn it on. One would think that any hotel this close to a beach would want to encourage it's visitors to rinse the sand off. Oh well.

Overall, my complaints are minor. Enjoyed our stay. If we choose a hotel next time it will probably be this, although I am going to look in to condo options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and also see that we could have made it a great experience. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and hope that we will see you again so we can make your next stay a problem free stay.
Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Planned a quick trip to Port Aransas for 3 nights. Went with Tripadvisor hotel reviews as they had awarded this hotel an award and all the reviews were great. So I paid almost $200 per night- retail. The hotel is very rundown, has bugs, toilet didn't flush (maintenance person not at work), the hotel management offered no other accommodations (room change) whatsoever. I told them we would only stay the first night and they refused to cancel the next two nights- then I provided information about my reservation and finally they agreed since I was giving them 24 hour notice. I have pictures and someone on the hotel staff even told me they did not blame me for complaining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Richard B,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was not what you expected. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if you didn't find some amenities to your liking and if the level of service provided didn't meet your expectations. We deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you may have had.

I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hotel is nice enough to stay, but the location does not justify the price. It is a long walk to the beach or to any attractions. The view from any room is a parking lot. Check-out was less than desirable.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us we hope that we will see you again.
Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a really nice surprise. I looked around for a last minute room in Port Aransas on Friday for the Saturday and this hotel was one of the only one to pop up. I am really glad that I took their last room. It is an amazing room and only two blocks from the beach. They have a nice pool and an even better breakfast. I was expecting crazy partiers but if they were around, I didn't hear them. Good times, good beach, great room and walking distance to a lot of things. I would stay here again, only wish we had a balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcyarnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It always put s a smile on our face knowing that we made someones stay a happy experience.
Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great Experience from the time we checked in till the time we checked out.Will most definitely stay there next time in port aransas close to beach and shops the front desk people were great the lady stocking the breakfast bar was the best i ever seen thank you Holiday inn

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We would like to thank you for the wonderful review you posted regarding your stay with us. We hope that we see you again soon.
Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Property is beautiful and clean upon arrival the general manager provided all 5 of my children with sand toys and sunglasses! When we go back we will only stay here! Thank u for the amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenniferecollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank You very much for the wonderful review you posted about your stay with us. It's always nice to hear that we were able to give you a memorable experience. Hope we see you again soon,

Sincerely, May Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Place Hotel
The Place Hotel
#14 of 20 in Port Aransas
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Address: 727 S 11th St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: $107 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing