We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaff

The Gaff
Ranked #36 of 77 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Funky Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a REAL island bar. We've listened to some really great entertainment there over the years. This weekend again did not disappoint. Great place for a couple "cold ones" if you really want the feel of the island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful beer garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to Gaff's after the Crazy Cajun wouldn't seat us until the whole party arrived. I loved their outdoor beer garden area which was filled with a mix of locals and tourists. Great place to hang out after a day at the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Want a beer, go here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Go here. Have a beer and be happy. Good little spot to enjoy a cold one with locals and out of towners. No trouble to be found unless you are asking for it. Eat, drink, enjoy, be happy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHomeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you walk in you will not be impressed as it just looks like a locals bar (which it is). Although at first glance it is not much, after you start reading the ceiling tiles and enjoying the flavor of the place you will be a life-long fan. Besides the bar area which is rather small, they also have tables out back where they hold the belt sander races. We were newbies and did not know the ropes so we just sat at a table. A very nice guy who is obviously a regular came over and explained how things work. After that we went to the bar and ordered our pizza and drinks. The pizza chef has only two small ovens to work with so you may need to be patient, but there is plenty to do to pass the time. As to the pizza, there were 3 couples in our group, and we all ordered something different. All of us agreed that it was the best pizza we had ever tasted!! We will be making The Gaff a regular stop on future trips to Port Aransas. Great service, great prices, friendly staff, and awesome food!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_W_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst pizza I have ever eaten in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are staying in port a with our family and had a craving for a good pizza . We read reviews for gaffs and went for it. 2 large and 1 medium topping pizza was 40 bucks. The pizza was awful , my whole family of 8, could not eat it. The dough was soft and uncooked, it remindes me of a pizza you would get at the bowling alley. Save your money go get a frozen pizza , it will taste better. STAY AWAY

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmn130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaff also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Gaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing