We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaff

The Gaff
Ranked #34 of 77 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you walk in you will not be impressed as it just looks like a locals bar (which it is). Although at first glance it is not much, after you start reading the ceiling tiles and enjoying the flavor of the place you will be a life-long fan. Besides the bar area which is rather small, they also have tables out back where they hold the belt sander races. We were newbies and did not know the ropes so we just sat at a table. A very nice guy who is obviously a regular came over and explained how things work. After that we went to the bar and ordered our pizza and drinks. The pizza chef has only two small ovens to work with so you may need to be patient, but there is plenty to do to pass the time. As to the pizza, there were 3 couples in our group, and we all ordered something different. All of us agreed that it was the best pizza we had ever tasted!! We will be making The Gaff a regular stop on future trips to Port Aransas. Great service, great prices, friendly staff, and awesome food!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_W_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst pizza I have ever eaten in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are staying in port a with our family and had a craving for a good pizza . We read reviews for gaffs and went for it. 2 large and 1 medium topping pizza was 40 bucks. The pizza was awful , my whole family of 8, could not eat it. The dough was soft and uncooked, it remindes me of a pizza you would get at the bowling alley. Save your money go get a frozen pizza , it will taste better. STAY AWAY

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmn130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“makes you feel like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

great friendly place. whenever I visit Port A, I like to have a few beers at the Gaff. everybody's a local there including the visitors. Very Casual, good pizza and a nice place to relax. if you're looking for fancy table cloth and candelight dinner...this isn't the place. Pool Table, darts, jukebox and cold beer - just what the dr. ordered :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bevojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, OK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Hippie Pizza Hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We've been in Port Aransas for a long time. Been to many restaurants and beer joints. If you are looking for an old time beer joint to hang out with people from everywhere, The Gaff is your place. They consistently make the best pizza we've ever had. This is not beer talk, its terrific pizza. Plus, you can take your doggy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My friends live next door and we visit every time I come down in the spring. The Sand Belt Racing is just fun. The barmaids make you feel like home. It's not fancy, but the beer is cold and the locals are interesting. Usually has a band playing out back. The pizza is pretty good too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NayNayO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaff also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Gaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing