We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Island Cafe and Smokehouse
Ranked #41 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice cozy place where a lot of the locals seem to come. Reasonably priced breakfast served by friendly staff. Portion sizes good. Had the ham steak breakfast and would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Risomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    77
    34
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our family had lunch here on a weekend afternoon. The waitress was friendly, and everyone found something they liked - club sandwich, chicken fingers, burgers...all priced very reasonably. They have added a children's menu, but our kids ordered from the adult menu and were very pleased with the sandwich and chicken. We were there at an off-time, so maybe we lucked out that no-one was smoking, but the place didn't smell smokey or anything. They had lots of cute decorations up for Halloween and that was entertaining to the kids. Overall, very nice experience good value and pretty good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doodlebug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had breakfast here, the food was good, although not outstanding. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Lunch, on the other hand was the bomb! The fish was the best I had on the island, the batter light and done to perfection. Great fries to go with it.

Portion size was enormous -- could easily feed 2 or 3 from one lunch!

Will return for more of that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average, nothing bad and nothing great - good food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Restroom was clean, restaurant was clean and we cleaned our plates. Just one place to go if other places are too packed, convenient & close to main roads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoureMyButterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I rate this high because of the breakfast. Nice Southern food. Over easy eggs cooked perfect. Biscuits and gravy, hash browns, and bacon are cooked very homestyle. All the food I saw going by looked really good.

Our service was fast. We did go off season on a Friday morning. Mostly locals were there at that time and it wasn't too crowed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe and Smokehouse also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe and Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing