We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mexican food, tons of cheese!”
Review of San Juan

San Juan
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
New Braunfels, Texas USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good mexican food, tons of cheese!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been eating at Juans since he was located in a whole in the wall. It's extremely busy, but always good! HOT salsa, fast paced, quick dining! Not fancy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    146
    52
    14
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I ate here several times on my last trip. The locals I hang out with love it! The food is excellent, inexpensive, no smoking, and great service from sons of the owner, Juan. They will fix your meal any way you want. Cheese, light cheese, no cheese. Cheese on the side. Whatever you want. Fantastic margaritas. Breakfast tacos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, OK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fast and cheap”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast and it was good but not great. It is different. Lots of Mexican twists to breakfast and we like it. Hard to mess up scrambled eggs. Service was very good - kept the coffee flowing. Food came out fast and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
362 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Get sick every time I eat here. :(”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all, the picture is misleading. This place isn't anywhere near the beach. I highly recommend Cancun over Juan's. Yes, you pay for what you get. The prices are cheap, but me, as well as friends and family always get sick afterwards. Stay away!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tahoequeen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to taqueria San Juan numerous times and find the food to be consistent and good. Service is fast, the workers are friendly. The place is always busy...especially for breakfast. Prices are extremely reasonable. Tacos, enchilladas, nachos are all freshly prepared and delicious. My only criticism would be that the restaurant itself could use a bit of a cleaning....but with the number of people in and out, I imagine it's difficult to keep up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylh407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing