We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Gull Condominiums
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first family vacation with our 17 month old daughter, and our first visit to Port A. Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Gull. We stayed in condo 507 from 9/3/13 to 9/7/13. We traveled with another couple (total 4 adults, 1 child). I think the best part of our trip was how quiet the condo was, along with the island/town itself. Since we traveled after Labor Day, the tourist season had ended and most families didn’t arrive until the weekend.
The unit itself was very nice, it is a 2 bed/2 bath unit and had been updated recently. Each bedroom had a king-size bed, along with ceiling fans and closets. The master bath was attached, while the guest bathroom was accessible from the hallway, about 4 feet from the guest bedroom door. We stayed in the master, and there was enough room for our daughter's pack & play in addition to our luggage. The closet in the master is bigger than the guest bedroom, but still enough space for each couple. Both baths were the combo tub/shower and hadn’t been updated, however the water temperature and pressure were fine in each. The sinks in each bathroom had been updated, as well as the toilets. Each bathroom included towels and soap (no shampoo or conditioner), as well as kleenex, toilet paper, and a hair dryer.
The kitchen had modern stainless steel appliances (including coffee maker, can opener, toaster, and in-sink disposal), everything worked very well. The unit does come stocked with pots, pans, bowls, utensils, cups, most basic items you’d need to cook. The condo also supplied dish soap, dishwasher detergent, and paper towels. There was also a trash chute located in the stairwell so we didn’t have to take the trash down by hand, very helpful. Housekeeping came by daily to refresh towels, not much else.
The views were fantastic, all of the units have views that look out towards the Gulf of Mexico. Both bedrooms in our unit faced the parking lot (ocean views from your bedroom may depend on what unit you book) The complex is about a 15 minute drive south of Port Aransas, an easy drive that puts you in the middle of grocery stores, shopping, restaurants, bars, fishing, and other activities. The condo offers a complimentary coffee bar each morning in the lobby, as well as books & DVD’s for rent (DVD’s are $1, books are free). There are also several luggage & shopping carts to help load/unload all of your stuff when arriving/departing, very helpful. When walking to the beach (very short walk, 1 minute to the sand!), Sea Gull does a storage chest with bodyboards, sandcastle toys, etc., and there also some in our unit as well. The staff was pretty friendly, they all seemed to be recovering from the busy summer and weren't too talkative. We never did go to the pool, although it was clean and well kept. There really ni kids activities while we were there, but the beach was enough entertainment for all.
Overall we would definitely go back again, and would consider staying at Sea Gull again.

Room Tip: Units are numbered from 1-10, with 1 & 10 being on the end and having more balconies. Units endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our property and condo #507. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our family-oriented beach front resort. Many other families return year after year because of the amenities and service. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in 809 from 8/13/2013 to 8/21/13. The condo is a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, and the tall windows allow for a great view of the water. This is truly beachfront. Even with the balcony door closed, I could still hear the waves, and I could see the ocean from the living room couch and also from the kitchen. it's lovely to watch flocks of pelicans fly past the windows. The balcony furniture is nice (not plastic), with 2 tall chairs for seeing over the railing. Watching the sunrise over the water is another great perk!

The condo is remodeled, and every room is nicely updated. No nasty carpet, no tacky furniture, no outdated beach decor, and the colors are light and bright. The bath tubs are the most outdated feature. If you enjoy soaking in a bath, this is not the tub for you. The hot water and water pressure were decent, but not great. Our shower at home is fantastic, and I'm rarely impressed with the water temperature and water pressure of other showers. The condo does not have filtered water, so we bought water for drinking and cooking. The air conditioning worked well. The kitchen was fully equipped for cooking, and it has a blender, crock-pot (slow cooker), toaster, and a coffee maker. The condo does not have a hair dryer, they do not provide shampoo or conditioner, but they do provide soap.

Overall, the condo is very quiet, even in August with families on vacation. However, the bedrooms pick up noise from the pool and parking lot, and I wore ear plugs on several nights. The condo is not near the pool, but we could still hear children playing (screaming) in the pool at night. Because the condos are further away from town, there is less traffic on the beach (if you don't know, you can drive on the beach in Port A). The beach in front of Sea Gull was not crowded, and since I expected crowds to be a problem in August, this was a pleasant surprise.
The pool is nice, although the hot tub needed cleaning. The staff is pleasant, and the landscaping is pretty and well maintained. Pool towels are available from the front desk, but you need to bring your own beach towels. During the summer months, the hotel provides canopies and chairs on the beach. Daily housekeeping consists of fresh bath towels, fresh kitchen towels, restocking toilet paper and paper towels, and taking out the trash. They change the bed linens (and make the bed) on every third day. Housekeeping does not make the bed daily, they don't do floors, and they don't clean the bathrooms. The condo has a broom, dustpan, mop, vacuum, along with Windex and other cleaning supplies.

Sea Gull itself is a bit outdated, but no more so than the other "classic" beachfront condos in Port A, and it's nicer than most of those places. The lobby has nice sitting areas with views of the water, and a sitting area with a big screen TV. I grew up vacationing at Island Retreat, and the classic Port A resorts have a special place in my heart. I was very pleased with 809, and we will rent this condo again for our next trip to Port Aransas.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions. I'd be happy to help!

Room Tip: When searching the Sea Gull rentals on their website, search for a remodeled room. Also, pay close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very happy that you were pleased with the property and the service that the staff provided. Port Aransas is incredible place for family memories and we look forward to your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I liked the location, and the convenience of being so close to the beach, the views, and the free chairs and tents for shade. We were there in August and it wasn't busy at all so always a tent free for us.
The DOWNSIDE of being at the seagull is the front desk ladies and elevators. The frontdesk ladies were very unexperienced and moody to my daughter. One morning the drills of the construction (remodel) on the seventh floor woke me up at 7:57 AM. They said they could not do anything about that. When we are paying more then 300 dollars for a night in August you don't expect construction going on! Overall we had a great vacation. We would consider giving it another try if there were two "working" elevators instead of one slow one, and maybe an service elvator would be nice, no drilling before 9 AM and nicer front desk ladies.

Room Tip: check if remodeling is going on. Even if it is on the other side of the building you can hear the dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kakatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

The Sea Gull’s annual service agreement with a major corporation provides for continual elevator service to help minimize any down time that would negatively impact our guests. Recently and due to two different power surges/outages on the island, one of the elevator motors was deemed inoperable. The motor was hand carried to San Antonio for immediate repairs and re-installed as soon as the repairs were complete. We understand the guest’s concerns and will continue to everything necessary to maintain continuity of quality guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in Condo 702 which still has the original kitchen and bathrooms which should be updated. There was no ceiling fan in the bedroom and the king mattress did not have much support. It should be replaced. There was no WI-FI in the condo. They did have a box to use a DSL connection but this was useless with my IPAD. There is WIFI in the lobby if you want to go down there. The rest of the condo was furnished very nicely and had tile floors which were nice. Great refrigerator with good ice maker. The view and patio were great. The pool was nice. The staff put up chairs and pop up tarps for shade on the beach, which were very nice. Gulf was just a short walk from the condo over a boardwalk and there were showers and foot wash stations on the boardwalk. The parking was close and adequate while we were there during the week. They only had 2 elevators and one went out before we arrived and it had a sign on it that it would not be fixed for about a week after we arrived. Looks like it was going to take about 2 weeks to fix. This is a tall building, 11 floors, and it would be real bad if the 2nd elevator went out while you were there. I can't imagine trying to get luggage up and down the stairs. Otherwise a nice visit.

Room Tip: Ask fou one that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpbeav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Your review of condo #702 and our property. Upgrades to condos are an ongoing process and we strive to have the best quality rental condos available in the area. We apologize for the inconvenience of only having one elevator working. The unexpected, but necessary repairs were completed as quickly as possible. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in June of 13. We stayed in unit 407 and the suite itself was very nice. Fully stocked and very comfortable. The beds were comfy, and our family fit nicely. Our only wish was that the tv was HD, but not a big deal.

Outside of the room, the facility was nothing to write home about. The pool was big and not crowded during our Sun-Thur stay. The kids liked it, but if you are looking for a pool as a major part of your experience I would look elsewhere (Port Royal has an outstanding pool, but I don't know what the rooms are like there.)

There is no restaurant or gift shop at Sea Gull, so plan on making a trip or two into Corpus (10 Miles) or Port A (5 miles) for supplies.

The beach experience is nice for Port A. No crowds, and the staff always had chairs/canopies available. In general, i wouldn't choose this beach if you could as easily get to a nice beach elsewhere. Once again, I don't know what the weekend crowd was like, since we were not there.

During our week, judging by the lights in the units seen from the beach at night, the building looked to be about 1/3 full.

We liked it because our kids were entertained with the breach/pool and the room was nice. It wasn't the classic tourist-drink-&-a-novel beach vacation however.

Our 4 night stay cost about 1900 after taxes. I suspect with early booking you could get that down a bit

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aginoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property and condo #407. We have many amenities that include: tennis courts, basketball court, game/fitness room, boardwalk to the beach, pool, hot tub, kid's activities, picnic area, bbq grills, book library and dvd rentals. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in condo 610 over spring break 2013. The condo was in definite need of updating, but it was clean and had everything we needed. We learned that the condo sold the week before our arrival, so maybe the new owners will update it, or maybe it will be dropped from the rental pool. 610 has a great view, it is not over the pool (yea, quiet!), and has 3 balconies. The listing says two queen beds, but they are not, they are doubles. So, if you plan on sleeping two people in a bed, they had better be small people. I am 5'3'' and slept with my 9yr old daughter, and it was a tight squeeze.

The staff was always nice and helped with anything we needed. The location of the property is 10 minutes from Port A and 20 minutes from Corpus. That was the only negative...driving in for groceries, to eat out, souvenirs, etc. But, the benefit was there were no crazy spring breakers, and the beach was not overcrowded. We did get a little frustrated with the "chair hogs" who went and got all the beach lounge chairs at 8am, left a towel on them, and came back and forth all day to the beach. It meant if you went down any time after 8am, you would never get a chance at a chair. Not the condos fault, just rude people.

And, for those who have never been to the Port A area, people can drive on the beach. So, watch your kids! And, that means that locals can drive over with their party trailers and camp outside your condo with their party tents, etc. That was actually pretty interesting to watch. I guess if you live in Corpus, you learn how to party at the beach on a budget! All they were missing was the portapotty!

Overall, we would definitely come back to the Sea Gull and the property right next to it, the Sandpiper, as it was identical to the Sea Gull.

Room Tip: Anything that ends in a 1 or 10 is a corner room (201, 210, etc.) and will be more quiet and have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank minntexmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Your review is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. Upgrades to all condos are ongoing and many guests find that our property is in a great location (right between Port Aransas and Corpus Christi). We will have a new policy to encourage fair usage of our canopies/beach chairs that will be in effect for the summer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 8 days the first of part October at the Sea Gull Condo's on Mustang Isalnd and it was perfect. This is just out side of Corpus Christi, Texas, just a few miles from Port Aransas. The property is on the beach with an easy walk down a board walk to a white sand beach and a great panorama of the Gulf. The building is clean and well cared for. The landsacpe is groomed and lush. The staff was great, friendly and very accomadating. Our unit was on the 5th floor and we had no issue with noise from any other units. The kitchen had every thing we needed for our in house meals. It is an easy drive to Port Aransas or the opposite direction to Corpus Christi. We found the restaurants in Port A good and reasonable in price. Corpus has a bigger variety and also all of the nationals if that is your choice. Be sure to try Snoopy's for great sea food just off the SPID going into Corpus.
October is a good time down here becasue it is between seasons and not as many people and rates are good. Couples or kids this is a great place. We are in our mid 60's and had a great time. Relax, enjoy the beach and sun, or drive the 140 miles to San Antonio for a day or two.
Good time, great place, and resonable rates

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMgr, General Manager at Sea Gull Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed Port Aransas and your stay at Sea Gull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
6.4 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
862 reviews
6.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
550 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
8 mi away
Amelia's Landing Hotel
Amelia's Landing Hotel
#7 of 20 in Port Aransas
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Condominiums

Address: 6649 Seacomber Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4877
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: $155 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mustang Island's Premier High Rise Condominium is located directly on the beach of the barrier island dividing Corpus Christi Bay from the Gulf of Mexico. The Sea Gull condos offer unobstructed cruise ship views of the water and of 27 miles of unspoiled beach. Port Aransas, only 8 miles up-beach, offers excellent dining, entertainment and shopping experiences. Entering the Sea Gull's lobby you will be greeted by attentive staff and a panoramic view of the Gulf and sand dunes. Venturing down the short boardwalk you will be overwhelmed by the beauty of the beach that extends on each side of the Sea Gull. It is then that you know... you have landed in paradise... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Gull Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing