We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Easily Have Been Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Could Easily Have Been Great!”
Reviewed May 26, 2005

Initial first impression was great. Location was as expected and the remodeled efficiency was attractive. However, no hot water after the first morning and dirty carpet turned the baby’s legs, feet, and hands black every time he was let down to crawl. Promise to correct hot water problem not kept.
Request for a price adjustment was denied at the front desk and management did not return calls. Loved Port ‘A’ but can not recommend Executive Keys.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2005

Great location, right on the beach, well maintained, clean rooms, game room with ping pong and fooseball tables. I highly recommend it, this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2005

After change of management, Executive Keys, through their own error, removed 28 people's luggage and belongings of the NMHS Aquatic Sciences class, in their absence and without permission or supervision, from three condos, and placed them in a game room. Upon returning from a lesson of digging and seining in the mud flats to shower and dress for shopping and dinner at the Big Fisherman, students and sponsors found all their belongings packed and stacked in the game room with no place to shower or dress. Lodging had to be found last minute in a local hotel.

Evidently the Keys recorded the check-out date wrong even though payment had been made for the correct number of days. Compounding this was the fact that arrangements had been made by phone and no confirmation letter arrived, upon check-in and payment no receipt was given (To be given "later"). Even though a cell phone number was on record, no serious attempt was made to contact us, and no police were present at the eviction. The result was many lost and broken items, some of which were valuable, and lots of confused and angry students trying to sort out personal items all thrown together. This came after fifteen years of repeated and enjoyable use of the Executive Keys. The Keys claimed to have no knowledge of our prior visits or where we came from or our activities in the area. They called our school district to find them closed on Good Friday and evicted us because they had that day as our check-out in spite of other evidence. Two different refund checks had to be issed to us after our complaints of overcharging. The manager would not come out to discuss the problem at the time. All communication went through other employees. Poor accounting, recording, business procedures, and management style.

Bob Rountree,
North Mesquite High School
Mesquite, Texas
March 26, 2005

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Office manager at Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2005
I feel compelled to defend our establishment since the review given by a teacher from North Mesquite High School was inaccurate and unfair.
1. Executive Keys did not record the check-out date wrong and payment was not for the correct number of days. We have, in writing, the original reservation card, the confirmation letter sent in December, and the reservation sheets that your sponsor signed upon check-in that stated the departure date and # of days to stay. The amount of the check was over the 2 night stay, but was not enough for a 3 night stay. The sponsor specifically told us that he always brought more than enough, just in case. He was told that a check for the difference would be given upon check-out if there were no other charges.
2. Confirmation letter WAS sent in December, 2004. If it was not received, no attempt to call our office was made.
3. As far as no attempt to contact you, I personally tried for over 3 hours to call, not only the school, but the cell phone that was given and where I received a voice mail and I left a message; the local Science Institute to see if you were there, and where they told me you had been there the day before and was at the Corpus Aquarium; and the Corpus Aquarium where I got no answer.
The rooms in question had guest arriving for their stay and we waited as long as possible to remove the items. The items were removed from the rooms by the Housekeeping Manager and Property Manager only and the On Grounds Security Officer was present. They were boxed and put into the Rec room and the door was locked. Upon return, the Managers were cursed out by a bus driver and were told that he was NOT leaving. Then the Sponsor came into the office. The General Manager did come out to talk to him. We showed him the paperwork we had. Our manager offered them 2 3-bedroom units that we had available, but the sponsor said he wanted to keep them all together. Our manager then got on the phone herself and found them rooms in one of our nearby hotels and let them use the 2 units to shower before they left. The check that was issued was for the overpayment upon arrival, that was discussed with the Sponsor. What we told you about your prior visits was that the previous management left very limited notes and did not use a computer. We have computerized the office since we took over. After they left, two of the sponsors arrived at our property managers door at midnight demanding to go back into the rooms to look for items. They were told they could not disturb the guests in the rooms, but if anything was found, it would be mailed certified to them.
If Executive Keys was at fault when the initial reservation was made on the departure date, the school was also at fault for not reading their confirmation letter or what they were signing upon check-in. So lets be fair about this.
Executive Keys regrets that this situation has occurred and has taken steps to prevent it again. Guests are now required to initial the departure date upon arrival, and groups are required to send back signed confirmation letters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 3, 2004

The Executive Keys was a great location to stay - only a short walk to the beach, plus the on-site pool was large and refreshing. The Executive Key's staff were friendly and check-in and check-out went smoothly. Our efficiency (Rm 116) was clean and comfortable, and we even had glimpse of the ocean! It is dog-friendly after October 1st and it seemed that lots of guests took advantage of it.

Be sure to get directions from them before you come - it would be hard to find based solely on the website or their brochure.

We would stay there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 25, 2004

My family and I were told about the Executive Keys through a co-worker of mine. No, the hotel is not fancy or brand new but it offers the comforts of a real family orientated atmosphere. The room we stayed in had recently been remodeled, had everything we needed in it, was very clean and quite cozy. The view of the ocean from the balcony was just enough to feel the cool breeze and see the tides roll in. My kids enjoyed being able to have the option of walking a short distance down to the beach or swim in the pool on the property, playing ping pong and meeting other teenagers that were there for the weekend. I was also very impressed with how clean the property is kept. If I was forced to say something negative my only complaint would be, the bath towels could be of better quality, bigger and thicker. Over all we had a good time and would certainly stay at the Executive Keys in room 116 again.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2004

We have been staying at the Executive Keys since 1976, the year we married and 28 years later, we consider it our home away from home. The rooms are always clean, kitchens are nicely stocked and the people are wonderful. We have stayed in the efficiency apartments and in the 2 bedroom apartments. Each time we have been very comfortable and very pleased. The location of the Keys is perfect! The beach is only a boardwalk over the dunes away. The balcony or patio at night is so relaxing. You just walk outside your door and there it is. There is nothing more relaxing than the sound & smell of the ocean and the Keys have it all. If you get tired of being salty then take a dip in their pool. The water is always clean & cool.

We have introduced friends & family to Executive Keys and will continue to do so. Everyone has been very pleased and...they now make the Keys their Port A home.

I am now 48 years old and I get just as excited as a kid when we drive up to those tropical blue condos known as Executive Keys. See you this summer!!!

Cindy

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2004

The Executive Keys is an very clean and well kept older complex of efficiency, and 2 and 3 bedroom condominiums located right on the beach. Most but not all of the condos have some type of view of the ocean and all have large balconies. The property is right on the beach so you can hear the ocean from anywhere on the property. My family and I stayed in a wonderful efficiency that had a full sized bed and futon and was equipped with a stove, full size refrigerator, large sink, microwave and kitchen table so it was easy to prepare and eat meals in the room. There is a large pool on the property with a sunshade area and plenty of nice patio chairs and loungers. The beach is a very short walk down a sidewalk and boardwalk. Downtown Port Aransas is a 5 minute drive away so everything is close. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the accommodations. We had a wonderful time during our stay and intend to stay here again.

Helpful?
12 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach

Property: Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach
Address: 800 Access Rd 1A, 800 Beach Access Rd 1A, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Executive Keys)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, 1 mile from the town of Port Aransas with easy walking access to beach. All Condos have full kitchens, are fully equipped and sleep 1-14 people. BBQ Areas, playground, gardens, coin-op laundry, fish cleaning station, swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Keys Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing