We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food!”
Review of Irie's Island Food

Irie's Island Food
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Irie's Island Food is an extra casual, very small restaurant serving lunch only. Hours of operation are seasonal in this vacation town. We feature fresh handmade food prepared by the chef/owner who is a graduate of the Culinary institute of America. Creative tacos on house made tortillas, Hawaiian, Asian, American/tropical, and international cuisine is offered at our establishment. We also make New Orleans style beignets from scratch, roast our own coffee, and even have creme brulee to go!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I ate at Irie's Island Food 3 times during our 2 day visit! The food was that good! The service was quick and friendly, and the food comes out fast! I had the Treasure Beef Salad with Black Sesame dressing on our first visit. It's probably the best salad I've ever eaten. Next I tried the Mr Gringo taco made with a fresh homemade flour tortilla. Outstanding. We came in for a late breakfast on our 2nd day and had the beignets -what a treat. We can't wait for our next visit to Port Aransas!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Garudabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    92
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Small, inexpensive but great food!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The only negative, is that there are only a very limited no. of tables available, AND they close at 5 pm. The food was fantastic, as was the price. Service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most excellent entry onto the island of Port Aransas, Texas.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A small restaurant specialising in fresh food. Everything is made in house. Tortillas and bread made daily by owners. Varied menu...tacos filled with all kinds of seafood, pork, beef, etc. delicious sauces complimenting each dish served on the side. We were so pleased we ate 4 times during our visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice folks, great food!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Good soup, chili and tacos! Very nice folks - great location - quick, reasonably priced "super" place for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SHRIMP TOCOS”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Shrimp can be done in many ways but the shrimp tocos at Iries are done in a way that the angles in heaven would call in for take out !!! LOL Start with fresh, hot, hand made flour tortillas then add one of nine sauces (or more than one) then fresh cabbage,tomatos and now the shrimp ! The shrimp --- grilled with a seasoning that is to die for !!! (Remember the angles in heaven ? ) For dessert order their beignets with some honey !!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillWO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irie's Island Food also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Irie's Island Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing