We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous addition to restaurant scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House - CLOSED

Fish House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous addition to restaurant scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here on a crowded holiday weekend and the food and service were flawless. One of group does not eat seafood, but thoroughly enjoyed the chicken-fried steak. The rest of us relished oysters, gumbo, and Baja fish tacos. The décor was as upbeat as the staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to take your family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

John and his crew done it again!
Very good fresh seafood at a reasonable price with a family friendly atmosphere. And a little bit southern to boot. I love the shrimp and grits. A must try.
An other winner from the Tarpon Inn family.
Best regards
Peter and family

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kopecekdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Fish Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been going to Port Aransas, Texas for 40 years and have sampled the fare at many restaurants there. Fish House recently opened with an extensive variety of dishes from three varieties of fish tacos to grilled filets of fresh fish. I had the grilled black drum, mashed potatoes and a Caesar Salad. All were excellent...okay, its hard to mess up mashed potatoes...no actually, mashed potatoes can lack lumps and skin...these had them both. I sampled my friends fried shrimp and fried flounder...excellent corn meal breading cooked to a golden brown leaving the fish and shrimp inside moist and tasty. Prices in line with other menus on the island...maybe a bit less. Recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mhiMahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special, or maybe we missed the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

New restaurant in town. We went for lunch. We started with an appetizer of Crawfish Queso, which was very tasty. It was a little on the runny side, but very good, nonetheless. I ordered the soup and salad. The Spinach Salad with Bacon Vinaigrette was very good. The menu was said to come with Cremini Mushrooms, but unless they were chopped super fine, I didn't have any on mine. The gumbo, was not good. I wish chefs would actually go to Louisiana and order a bowl of gumbo to see what it is supposed to taste like. Unfortunately, I think this chef went to the other restaurants in Port A that serve poor excuses for gumbo and followed their lead. The Smoked Chicken Green Chili Chowder on the other hand was absolutely a home run!. It had a fantastic smokiness, and overall very good flavors. My husband got a burger, and it was nothing to write home about. It was average. Perhaps there are stand outs on the menu that we just happened to miss. The service was great and the decor was very nice. Not sure if we will go back or not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had lunch here one day with my husband, mother-in-law and daughter. Nice look and feel inside, with a pretty standard menu. I had the daily special which was citrus grouper on a bed of pesto pasta. Pretty tasty, and a great deal considering the price even included tea. My husband had a fish sandwich and said it was so-so. Service was great, which elevates what would have been a 3-star review to a 4-star.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saroy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing