We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, but These folks are in it for the money.”

Virginia's On The Bay
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good view, but These folks are in it for the money.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Cool atmosphere but the tables are way too close together, the food is good if you are looking for one step up from frozen fish sticks and the while feeling was that they just wanted to run tables to make money. Overpriced frozen seafood. The fish I asked about was tilapia, not exactly local. The snapper I went with was over cooked and just not that flavorful. Don't waste your time except for a cocktail on the upper level.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    325
    218
    101
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Other reviewers nailed it! Nice waterfront location and casual atmosphere to fit the sultry gulf coast weather--but it ends there. The wait for a table is extremely long; the service is slow and impersonal. Complaints to the management drew poor responses, and the food when it did arrive ranged from unattractive and unremarkable to downright inedible. Salad shrimp were limp, overcooked and tasted like iodine. The salad itself looked like one you might get in a plastic box at the airport. Veggies were cold (and should have been hot); a seafood "dump" was inedible (again, iodine flavored shrimp); a crab cake was okay but unremarkable...I could go on. The prices here are not low--the quality doesn't live up to the promise. Try the Pelican Club next door!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizB256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great views, Average food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The location and staff were great and the views were outstanding but the food was just mediocre. I'd definitely go back but wouldn't be my first choice next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txnikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is great -- right on the marina with nice views of boats and the water. But that's really the only notable thing. My husband and I waited for almost an hour and ended up wishing we'd just gone somewhere else and not wasted our time. Service was slow and our waitress wasn't very attentive. The food was ok, but nothing different than you could get at any other fish place at any other beach, and definitely not worth the inflated prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saroy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location but food and service lack”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have waited almost 4 years to finally eat at this place and was very disappointed. There has always been a wait time of more than an hour so I have avoided this place for the past several summer visits to Port A. Finally, there was no wait so I was excited to try it! BIG DISAPPOINTMENT! Service - the hostess could have cared less that she had a job, the waitress was very sweet but had zero serving skills as we had to wait and wait and finally flag down another waitress just to get a drink refill and extra sauces. As a mentioned, no wait time so the restaurant was not full. Food - way overpriced and just average. Steer clear of the Cajun Dump! Overcooked shrimp and not enough food to fill you up for one of the highest price menu items. Location - GREAT!!!! Unfortunately, I will not be returning. They are too many other more affordable and better restaurants in this great little town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia's On The Bay also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Virginia's On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing