We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

I randomly wandered into Marcel's for the first time about a year ago, mostly due to the novelty of it being a German restaurant, and I'm so, so glad I did. I've had about every German-themed item on the menu since and I've yet to come away disappointed.

My wife and I have visited at least once a month for the last year: her fave dish being the Hungarian Goulash and mine being the Jagerschnitzel.

It's a nice atmosphere and very reasonably priced. Do yourself a favor!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJFHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Marcel's is one of our favorite places to dine ....key word- dine- not just eat and run!
Great place for a "date night". The food is always delicious and the service is just wonderful.
We love the atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Marcel's is one of our favorite restaurants in Port Aransas. We have been enjoying their food for many years. The hostess is so accommodating and the wait staff is very attentive. The food is most excellent. We always start with the fried oyster app and move on from there with the specials or fried shrimp. We love the atmosphere. We were just recently in town we began and ended our vacation with Dinner at Marcel's. Thank you for all you do!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food soooo good and service is impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Glad we found this new restaurant on our 3rd family trip to Port A....things were getting a bit boring for us so we decided to try something new...glad we did....food was fresh and so delish...service was above and beyond good...Joyce was extremely nice and fast with our food and handles kids like a pro...will definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank filo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to relax, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

When everywhere else in Port Aransas is overrun with crowds of tourists, try Marcel's. Peaceful, pleasant, elegant but homey, a great place to relax, with a varied menu of well-prepared continental food. The service is professional and friendly. Marcel's has become one of our new favorites in Port A.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing