We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real nice dinner”
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: German, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Trinidad, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real nice dinner”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Marcel's. Food was good to very good (bread was excellent and the steak was perfect) and the service was excellent considering the place was full and the waitress was covering many tables. She was really pleasant in spite of how busy she was. A family owned and operated restaurant that may not suit everyone, but if you want a quality dining experience, they do a nice job. Marcel's has a high rating among P.A. restaurants and after eating there, I agree.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“fine evening”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fine menu selection with wide price options, great German draft beer, good wine selection, tasty bread before meal with appetizers and attentive service. Daily special was both good value and tasty (braised lamb shank). A number of typical German specialties on menu in addition to your usual American dishes. My wife (who was born and partially raised in Germany) found the pan-fried pork schnitzel tasty. We will be back before we leave town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refugio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food not so Good”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Girl friend and I went into Marcel's for dinner and had a nice Glass of house Red wine. We ordered our dinner and the service was good but the food has really gone down from our previous visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemarlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not really for the under 60 crowd”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We scanned the positive reviews on Yelp and this site and thought it'd be a good bet. Descriptions said German and seafood, and the outside wasn't much to look at, so we expected typical Port A casual/rustic/worn with a powerhouse kitchen. Arrived at 6:00ish for our 3-generation family dinner (young kids, young retirees, and a 30-yr old couple) the place was dead and quiet. Signage at entrance indicates that it's the meeting location for the local Kiwanis club. I love what the Kiwanis do, but this should give a sense of the kind of tastes this restaurant is used to satisfying. Decor is silk flowers hard tile floor and linen tablecloths. Wine list is fine, not extensive but way overpriced. Service was very efficient and friendly but a bit too in-your-face for my tastes: e.g. Kids meals came with a scoop of ice cream for dessert but server did not ask parents' permission before placing the sweet treat in front of the kids. House baked bread is excellent. Salads=blah. The staff is proud of their made-to-order sauces. They were good, but a little bland with too much emphasis on 'cream.' The specials, however, were terrible. For a restaurant that is 'known' for seafood they should know how to cook a $27 grouper entree so that it ends up flaky and not rubbery. If I hadn't been with my in-laws I'd have sent it back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WUSTLmedievalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorie_Althauser, Guest Relations Manager at Marcel's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Marcel's is not the meeting place for the Kiwanis (though we support their organization and are honored to count their members as our customers - all of whom have exceptional “taste”). The sign on the door was advertising an upcoming Kiwanis event being held at the Port Aransas Civic Center, by the way.

The industry standard markup for wine is 2.5 to 3 times the wholesale cost (the Wall Street Journal says the average is 2.75). We have no problem letting anyone know that our mark up for wine is 2 times - well below the average for restaurants. We do not overprice our wines. On the contrary, we invest a great deal of time and energy in finding quality wines that are an excellent VALUE for our customers. We don't rely on wine reps to select our wines. We taste everything and select everything ourselves.

Since a concern was expressed here, and I'm sure other diners might also not fully understand this issue let me take this opportunity to explain why a given bottle of wine is going to cost more in a restaurant than on your supermarket shelf. Firstly, small restaurants (like ours) purchase wine from the distributor by the single case and sometimes even by the bottle; therefore we don't get the high volume discount a wine shop or box store does. Restaurant Beer & Wine permits/licenses cost money, taxes must be paid, glassware and service equipment must be replaced (stemware is fragile and costly), bottles opened for "by the glass" service does not keep and must be discarded within a day or two if not sold, complimentary tastes of wine are given, unavoidable spillage occurs, electronic wine storage cellars are required to keep wine at correct serving temperatures (not only are these expensive, but they require ongoing maintenance). Then there is the time and print cost of maintaining the actual wine list; especially one that changes regularly like ours does. None of those expenses are incurred by your local Safeway or Costco who buy wine by the pallet and put it on a shelf for you to grab and go.

Generally our servers ask if kids would like complimentary ice cream at the same time they ask the rest of the table if they would like to order dessert. We do this because we need to know if they want their ice cream with or without chocolate sauce. Some children also opt out of the ice cream due to a milk allergy or prefer to order a dessert off the regular menu instead. The server doesn't remember simply bringing unrequested ice cream to the table, but we are not saying it didn't happen. We made all the servers aware they should not start this practice (should the urge hit them) nevertheless.

If your Grouper was overcooked, we would have liked to have had the opportunity to make it right for you. I do not think your in-laws would have thought any less of you for sending it back. We certainly would not have. While we would love every plate that comes out of our kitchen to be a shiny example of perfection personified - the truth is, sometimes food gets over or under cooked. It happens. We dine out - it happens to us. We ask the server to correct whatever the issue is (usually cold food) – we enjoy our wine while it gets handled- and we pick up where we left off once the plate returns knowing full well that the chef is probably feeling terrible that he missed the mark. That's just us though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of Our Favorites”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

One of our most favorite restaurants in Port Aransas. Cuisine prepared European style, every morsel cooked to perfection, and every plate the foods are paired perfectly to compliment the taste and textures intended by the Chef.

The wine list has something to go with everything.

The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and so very accommodating.

If you've never been, then you should your next dining experience in Port Aransas! A GEM!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing