We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding meal and wonderful fudge”
Review of Marcel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and wonderful fudge”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really enjoyed the marinated carrots in the house salad, the gravlax, the shrimp bisque and the Wiener Schnizel. And the homemade fudge was oh so good! Thanks Marcel and family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food in a Small, Coastal Town”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband raved about the fresh grouper with the perfectly seasoned vegetables, angel hair pasta, and homemade soup as well as the saurbraten with red cabbace and potates. This was a friendly, familty restaurant with ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dependably High Quality”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Pt Aransas over the years, I've seen several restaurants come and go. But Marcel's has always been here offering excellently prepared food at very reasonable prices. On a recent cold December evening, we ordered the white board specials, wild boar ragout and the grouper fish. The meals always include a choice of soup or salad, the latter with homemade dressing. My salad was designed with several artfully arranged ingredients. My wild boar ragout tasted absolutely divine, served with roasted squash and spaetzle. My companions attested to the freshness of their grouper dishes. We requested and were seated in the quiet breezeway portion of the restaurant on a table dressed elegantly with white linens. The wine list included selections for every budget. The owner-chef, Marcel, a native German, is always at work in the kitchen preparing not only authentic German cuisine, but fresh seafood dishes. Our waitress was a family member who provided excellent service. There is nothing not to enjoy about this restaurant which, after dining here for several years, I heartily recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delicatexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

After reading numerous reviews decided on Marcel's they didn't disappoint! Great homemade bread, German beer and great food great combination!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Marcels Never Disappoints”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I have been dining at Marcel's since it opened in the 1990's. We quickly became devoted to it and returned for birthdays, anniversaries, even Thanksgiving dinner here. The quality of the food and wine is always excellent. The Clark family fondly recalls Thanksgiving 2001 -- Marcel's first time to cook turkey and all the American trimmings -- a resounding success. The choices reflect an Austrian/German influence with continental flair added to steak, seafood, chicken and pork dishes. The prices may be a little high, but they are completely worth it for the divine food, prompt, smooth service, and the ambiance. We will keep coming back as long as Marcel's is open!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Writergal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing