We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant View, Pleasant Food”

Trout Street Bar & Grill
Ranked #13 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Pleasant View, Pleasant Food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This waterside restaurant is like many beach seafood restaurants with a slightly nicer decor, a beautiful view of the Aransas Pass and marina and a specialty in seafood. Much seafood in this area come fried with heavy cornmeal, slightly gritty breading but we got a specialty of sweet Gulf shrimp done in garlic and butter with a light dusting of parmesan which was quite nice. Price points are higher than many places in Port A; this specialty was $18.99, but quite good. The clam chowder was very thick (thicker than their white gravy) but had nice tender clams. Dessert price points were a bit higher than other spots in town as well but overall the meal was good.

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    159
    101
    45
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant -but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We like Trout Street and eat there once everytime we are in Port A. Food is OK, but there is better seafood to be had on the island. To be honest, it is a bit pretentious and overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice clean good”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ate here 12/22/12 evening. Fresh seafood specials. Bar drink prices were average. Food was good, well seasoned, tasty. Again, not as upscale as it looks and on the higher side of moderate ($10-17) than shown in local guide--closer to $20-25. Good for families. Simple "fish" decor on walls. Nothing to get overly excited about but good food. Would recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elginjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Value”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good view of waterfront. Nice atmosphere. Food was very well prepared. Very fresh and very tasty. Some of the best food in Port Aransas for the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“frustrating experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we walked in there was a sign that said fresh oysters so thats what we ordered. The waiter came back & said they werent serving oysters today.My husband is on a gluten free diet so he ordered fish tacos & asked the waiter if they were corn tortillas , He said yes but later came back & said the corn tortillas also have flour in them. So he ordered
grilled fish. It took at least 30 minutes to get our order in. It was certainly not worth it. The grilled fish was undercooked, we didn't get the sides we ordered but at that point we didn't say anything. My fried shrimp were ok.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edj206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trout Street Bar & Grill also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Trout Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing