We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner”
Review of Venetian Hot Plate

Venetian Hot Plate
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
McAllen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The Caesar salad was excellent. The filet mignon was excellent. The seasoning on the rack of lamb was great, but there was excess fat left on the lamb that took away from the overall taste. Wanted to celebrate a birthday, however, the restuarant will not give a complimentary dessert., only a candle , if you order a dessert.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    69
    24
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Try the veal!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Always an amazing food experience with wonderful Linda at the helm. We tried both veal dishes and were delighted! The Cesar salad is a treat..whole romaine leaves with great dressing and anchovies. They have an expansive menu and everything is very fresh. I only wish they would vary the mushroom cut potatoes....maybe mash them slightly for a change??Love the garlic spinach, bread, service and Linda. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Yokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Low Key Dining - Good Food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Venetian Hot Plate has a good menu and good wine selection. Even on a quiet Tuesday in the off-season the service was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great seafood, Italian”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We'd heard good things about the Venetian Hot Plate from friends last year before we went to Port Aransas, but didn't make it by. This trip we moved it to the top of our list, and it was really worth it. My husband had the scallopini and I had one of the daily specials, a b-line snapper that was light and delicious. Meals came with a salad and fresh bread, and portions were generous but not overwhelming. We split the creme brulee for dessert, a fine choice. We were there on a Tuesday in October and the place was not busy, but I understand they fill up during the tourist season. It's worth a reservation!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a great meal here many years ago and still wonderful. Appetizer of clams, shrimp, mussles, scallops in a wine broth absolutely to die for. For entree had red snapper that was delicious. They have very fresh seafood and great specials depending on what's fresh. A bit pricey, but well worth it. There are some really bad tourist trap seafood places on the island, so I certainly am willing to pay a little more for a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tex4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Hot Plate also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venetian Hot Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing