We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First night of the new menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venetian Hot Plate

Venetian Hot Plate
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First night of the new menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went here with three other families, not knowing that it was the very first night of their new menu.

The food was delicious. We watched table after table of apparent regulars come in, look at the menu and leave. I don't know if it was the new food items or the new price points but there were many unhappy people!

There weren't that many vegetarian options which was difficult since we were a group with four adult vegetarians and two child vegetarians. The kids all got pasta and were happy. The rest of us ordered a variety of items- shellfish, beef, salads, etc.

The wine was good, if a bit overpriced.

Hopefully, they'll get their pricing tweaked and will survive the winter because it was a nice place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    59
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“worth The Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the great pleasure of visiting this amazing quaint and simple family restaurant during our Christmas vacation. Quality and flavor in Every single entree. My scallopini with mushroom shaped potatoes and shoe string vegetables was boasting with flavor, sampled the Bolognese and the evidence of slow cooked paccenta sends anyone to another dimension. EVERYONE in our table of seven raved about there meal.

The death by chocolate cake which one of the 2 young girls ordered was remarkable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginoris@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The BEST on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

They took an old convience store from decades ago and made it into an amazing Italian restaurant that is a "destination", for sure!..
I have need seen this quality of food or service on the island in my 42 years of coming here!..

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarakkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi, tx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out "special occasion" restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

If you can get there early you must try the lasagne. It is wonderful and worth the early hour. They do sell out every night. The dip for the bread is very tasty. But don't eat too much or you will be too full to enjoy the other courses. Venice in Port Aransas! Can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashkapatmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A visit to Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of PA's best ... a trip to Venice while at the beach. And don't miss the lasagna on Saturday evening, but make certain to reserve your plate when you make your reservation!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Hot Plate also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venetian Hot Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing