We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best We Tried in Port A”

Shells Pasta & Seafood
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
652 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Best We Tried in Port A”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This place came highly recommended, and now we know why. Very broad standard menu, with a wide array of pastas, meat dishes and seafood. On top of that, there is also a large, changing blackboard menu, with 20-30 more choices. You can't go wrong with either. Service was very attentive, the decor was cheery, and they have a nice selection of beers and wine, including many by the glass.
My pasta bolognese was a thick ragu with penne. I added sausage, and while they were very tasty, I really didn't need the extra--it was just too much (excellent) food, especially after the house salad, which is 2-3 times bigger than most places, with lovely greens, onion, tomato, and olives. My wife had that salad as her entree, with shrimp added, but started with a mango gazpacho with shrimp. She liked the soup, but said it could use a bite of heat. As mentioned, good wine offerings, but one small nit. The glasses are like toys or something, offset somewhat, however, by generous pours.
All in all, the best we had in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    183
    64
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still cooking good food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Shells has been one of the best in Port A for a long time. They have gotten a bit stingy in charging for bread and the glass of wine was tiny BUT the fish was excellent. Whoever makes the sauces is inspired. All in all, a terrific meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cragtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
332 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best mixed green salad and pasta.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Shell's is a wonderful small restaurant that has the best pastas, great salads, and super tuna tacos. Fresh Black Drum was yummy today with a nice sauce. A good appetizer is the slightly warmed olives with olive oil and rosemary. The spicy farfalle pasta with shrimp is great too. For something lighter, try the tomato basil soup. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food and service, sad ambiance”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on TA reviews. Walking into the restaurant there is not a host stand therefore you just walk into the middle of the restaurant and hope to catch someone's attention, which they don't return with a 'welcome or hello'. The wait was short. We were seated at a 2-person table near the door, fine once we moved the table away from the door entrance. We ordered shells with gorgonzola and crab/shrimp/sausage gumbo. All servings were more than enough and with garlic bread (topped with pesto and cheese), our bill of $34 was reasonable. Ambiance was sad. Interior painted battleship blue, janky lattice around coolers, and poor lighting doesn't make it feel like good food is served there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Found this little gem while in Port A. Food was delicious! I ordered off the chalk board and had the Mahi- to die for! My friend had the lamb, which was also so yummy. For such a small kitchen, the staff worked well together to give great service. The desert was amazing as well. We had the key lime pie and then took home the bunt cake and banana cream pie for desert the next night!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swebb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells Pasta & Seafood also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shells Pasta & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing