We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Island Experience”

Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tahlequah, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Island Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really cool place. It was recommended by the desk clerk at our hotel. Food was really good with good prices. Would good back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    87
    63
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's consistently OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Every time we visit the island, I have to take the kids here because they like having the food dumped on the table, and bashing the crab legs and taters with the wooden hammers.
It's hard to screw up a cajun crawfish boil, so the Hungry Cajun always comes out the same - it could use more seasoning, but it's pretty good.
I also tried the ribs - mistake. They were pretty flavorless, pretty much the worst ribs I've ever been served.
And we sat right under an AC vent, which was blowing on the food and everything was cold in about 5 minutes, so pay attention to that.
The service was OK and the atmosphere is interesting. Lay Playa and Station St. - at the same intersection are both better choices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RhetoricalTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible, just terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I guess there is no health dept in So. Texas! I could not believe they just dump the food on the table. No plates. plastic forks and knifes. We usually spend the winter in Florida so we know good seafood this place doesn't even come close! the crawdads were old with litterly no meat! the crab was so small it was not worth the work to open them. The service was good but then we were there on a week night and there wasn't very many dinning. I will never ever ever go back to that awful place.!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trophywife677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cajun in Port A”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I liked it. My waiter was great. Good food, and great recommendations by the waiter. I was surprised there weren't more choices on the menu, yet then felt it was quite enough.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food here is Crazy GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have to eat there any time we're in town!! We've been asking for Fidel to wait on us for many years and he has never let us down! We were there when the crawfish were out of season this time but it was still great! We always get the table full and a bowl of Red beans and rice! It can't be beat!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayneamoondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crazy Cajun Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing