We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Very Rundown place and stickers hurt my dogs feet!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Laughing Horse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This place is very eyecatching with its wild colors and the people are very dog friendly but, this place is not worth 150.00 a night. First off, We took our dog with us and could not even walk him outside because what little grass there was, it was so full of stickers that my dog could not even walk in it. I even had sandals on and got stickers stuck on the sides of my feet-ouch!!! So, I ended up pulling stickers out of mine and my poor little dogs feet!!! And as far as the rooms, I dont know about the other units, but the duplex unit we stayed in was very run down. There was aluminum walls that separated us from the other unit so we were very afraid to talk too loud or have our tv too loud. The other walls had old outdated brown paneling. It had old plywood floors that had been painted blue, were very faded, and chipping and needed redoing. They were nasty looking and I did not walk on them without my slippers. The covering over the bed was very threadbare and faded. The pillows were flat & the bed was creaky and not comfortable at all! And when laying in bed and looking up at the ceilling, you could see nasty water stains and other areas that had a very poor patch up job. Did not even repaint where it had been patched. The bathroom was not ventilated and the shower drain was broken, rusty and nasty looking. You had to hold the knob down on the toilet for about a minute or it would not flush. There were two windows in the bedroom. Both had dirty standard white blinds and one window had a very threadbare valance while the other window had nothing. The window in the bathroom had a brown plantation type shutter that you could see out of during the day shut- so, in this bathroom, you better get your shower before nightfall or risk having a peeping tom looking at you through them!!! All in all, this place was horrible and I would not recommend it to anyone or even for a dog!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aLaughingHorseLodge, Owner at A Laughing Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2009

No owner likes to see guests unhappy with their stay. It seems we did little to make this guest have a good experience. We are an old Port Aransas beach style property. We think the corregated metal walls in one unit are kind of cool and the hot shot designers, who stayed with us recently from New York City, agreed. But then what do they know about what is cool in Texas? Anyway, we will work to do better and for the things we can improve on, we will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

We traveled from Frisco, Texas with our two precious corgis.
They had a wonderful time. Loyd and Sandy are amazing. They made sure Sammi and Zoe were welcomed and always had a treat ready for the girls. The room was cozy, comfortable and just the right size for our family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Staff informative and just plain fun. Easy access to beach. Cute rooms, clean and adorable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiemac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This was our second time to stay at ALHL within 6 months. We have 2 10-month old clunky lab puppies who absolutely LOVE the place. We love tht they are welcome and that we are able to hose "the girls" off everytime we come back from the beach. Nothing fancy, but clean and convenient.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Autumnheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My wife, son, daughter, daughter in law and grandchildren all strayed at the LHL. This is our 2nd trip there and it is always a pleasure to go back. Sandy is very helpful and personable. My son has 2 dogs and they were welcomed with their own bowls and tags in case they get lost. There are lots of restraunts avaliable and lots of water to fish, swim or play in the surf. Thanks to all the friendly staff they made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wradtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This was our second stay at the Laughing Horse and once again it was a hit!! We love the staff, the cottages, and the location. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guffnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our family gets together once a year for a week at Port Aransas. We've stayed at hotels and condos--then we found Laughing Horse. It is just right for our family and the dogs. One of my favorite things is to sit outside the cottage with my family. No one wants to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyDogAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 503 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5715
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Laughing Horse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Horse Lodge is a fun, kitchy, beach style, dog friendly Port Aransas fishing village property. We have 18 units of various configurations from efficiencies and kitchenettes to two bedroom free standing cottages with covered patios. We are not a condo or standard motel but are a unique 1950's place updated with colorful rooms and buildings. If you are ready for a fun beach experience, come on down!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Laughing Horse Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing