We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick back and relax with your dog.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Laughing Horse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A fun, laid back, casual place to stay near the beach. Nothing fancy, but the perfect place after a walk on the beach with a little sand still on your feet. The room easily sweeps clean with little effort or worries should your pet track indoors. This place loves dogs and is a perfect home away from home for that special friend to share your vacation. Complete with a dog wash! Good restaurants are close by within easy walking or driving distance. My only negative is that the WiFi is erratic if it works at all. Go figure. Clean and neat. My second visit. Everyone in management is pleasant and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 484 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Simple and very clean. The manager make you feel very welcomed and treats you extremely well. No doubt a great place to stay and I will certainly stay there next time around. By the the way I didn't see any bugs maybe the bugs that were seen from another guest, were just on a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you want to stay on a place that is INFESTED with pill bugs then this is your place.... Had to sweep 3 to 4 times a day just to be able to walk across the floor without hearing the crunching sounds of their little bodies.... Brought it to managements attention and all I got was an "oh well it is south texas we have problems with the big water roaches too and we do exterminate on a regular basis". Called a number of other places to try and change places to stay and everyone one was full. Management didn't even offer ANY kind of help for or grossness and inconvience . Really sad we have stayed here many times but never again. I hear the seashell village across the street is really nice and comparably priced

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Justatxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aLaughingHorseLodge, Manager at A Laughing Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We are so sorry that this happened. The rollie pollies that came in their unit must have been disturbing. We have exchanged several messages and apologies with this guest to no avail. They are still very angry with us. We are in the tropics and do have to spray for bugs on a monthly basis. If we had known about a problem while they were staying with us, we could have helped them out. But that was not the case. We called the exterminator out and he said rollie pollies are not actually bugs. Who would have known? None the less, the guest had a bad time and that is never good. We will continue to strive to do better. We are a wonderful beach style lodge located at a spectacular coastal village. We value our guests and hope they enjoy staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first trip to the Laughing Horse and we will be back. This is not luxury accomodation but it is clean, laid back and fun. Perfect for the beach. The bed was super comfortable. We went with a group of people and rented three properties. The ktichens had everything we needed. It is very dog friendly and we could walk to both the beach and to the bars and restaurants as well as the IGA. The staff was very accomating and friendly. This is a great spot for couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We found the Lodge on line and decided to check it out. No disappointment whatsoever!!! It's a somewhat eclectic, Kitschy little place, so if you want 5 star accomodations, fuggedaboutit! But. it's Clean, quiet, and very laid back. And the owners/managers and staff are great. Plus, it's just a few blocks from the beach, and if you have been to Port A before, you know it's close to good places to eat. Needless to say, we will be planning a return trip!

Room Tip: Check out their website, good pics of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PonchoDon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aLaughingHorseLodge, General Manager at A Laughing Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Laughing Horse Lodge! We look forward to you staying with us again very soon!

Thank you,
Laurel Castleberry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice staff, we stayed in Crazy Horse which was super cute and had everything we needed. The only thing "off" was the coffee we tried to make in the pot they had tasted weird (we brought our own coffee from home) but it was no problem as the Stripes nearby has awesome coffee. Quick trip to the beach from this place, laid back vibes and fun vintage decor. We loved it, super dog and family friendly. Our two year old and Boxer felt right at home. Would definitely stay again. Everyone on staff, including the young man that was doing lawn maintenance was super friendly and helpful. Wonderful experience overall!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rissadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in #7 and it was perfect. The cabin was fun, quirky and best of all CLEAN. These cabins are older but in good repair and the bright beachy colors give the whole place a very nostalgic feel. MaryAnn, who was working the front desk was a delight and felt like family. She gave us towels and bowls for my dogs which was a nice surprise. Speaking of towels, I haven't stayed anywhere that has larger or softer towels. None of those tiny sandpaper like towels offered by other places I've stayed in Port A. They even offered us charcoal and lighter fluid if we wanted to grill out. There was a huge dog park adjacent to the property and they provided bags and a place to dispose of the waste. I can't give enough praise to the staff and management of ALHL, our visit felt more like a home coming.
Thank you,
Boyd

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Boyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
856 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 503 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5715
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Laughing Horse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Horse Lodge is a fun, kitchy, beach style, dog friendly Port Aransas fishing village property. We have 18 units of various configurations from efficiencies and kitchenettes to two bedroom free standing cottages with covered patios. We are not a condo or standard motel but are a unique 1950's place updated with colorful rooms and buildings. If you are ready for a fun beach experience, come on down!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Laughing Horse Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing