We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Laughing Horse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here with our dog this past weekend, and we loved it! We needed a place that would let us bring our dog, was within walking distance of the beach, and wasn't insanely expensive, and Laughing Horse Lodge was all three.

We stayed in the smallest unit, and efficiency called the Bridle Sweet, and were very pleased with all the amenities. It had a flatscreen TV with DVD player (and we brought our blu-ray to hook up to it), a small but useful fridge/freezer (it has its own freezer section, instead of a freezer shelf like most tiny fridges), a microwave, and a coffee pot. There was also a little breakfast table right in front of a huge window.

The bed was amazing b/c it had a memory foam mattress pad--my fiancee had the best night's sleep in the last year, and we're planning to go buy our own mattress pad now. Haha!

The maid service is do-it-yourself, which is just fine by me, as it keeps the cost down. I didn't feel that the place was lacking at all because of it. If you want fresh towels and sheets, all you have to do is bring the old ones to the front office, and they'll replace them.

The woman in the front office (I'm not sure if she was one of the owners or not) was also very friendly and helpful and fun to talk to.

Overall, it was a great experience, and we're going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    128
    17
    15
    13
See reviews for
200
158
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a great stay at Laughing Horse, as always. The accomodations are functional and lots of fun, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the cottages are very close to the beach. We brought a dog with us for the first time. LH is very dog friendly and it worked out great! This is my favorite place to stay in Port Aransas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonM855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Laughing Horse Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It is accommodating, charming, and downright cozy. My dad and I stayed in the Charlie Horse #9 cottage, and both enjoyed it. My father, who is 73, found the seating and his bed to be quite comfortable... and believe me with his aches and pains he is picky. The kitchen was stocked with all of the tools one needs to prepare a great meal. The cottage was very very clean as well! All in all the kitschy cool decor along with the "home away from home" vibe really was perfect for us. Candy and staff were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We will be going back to stay and fish some more.... and I will be going back with a small group of friends. Love the Laughing Horse Lodge!!

Room Tip: From what I was able to see all of the spaces are sweet... I suggest going for one of the solo cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Laughing Horse. We had six adults and three dogs and tons of fun. The rooms are super colorful and the place goes for a fun, kitschy feel, like those '60s beach party movies. We rented a couple of golf carts from the lodge for the weekend and cruised all over town. It's an easy walk to the beach if you don't have golf carts and don't want to drive. The bed I was in wasn't very comfortable, but that could be chalked up to my personal taste. (No one else had any complaints.) The AC units were window units and were kind of loud. Loved that it had a covered porch and grill. The dogs got plenty of love from the staff, including doggie bowls and a bunch of treats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a great place for families, pets, couples, or girls retreat. The bathroom and shower were awesome. The cottage we stayed in had the vintage rectangular porcelain tile on the floor in the bathroom and there wasn't a "shower stall", the floor of the bathroom sloped slightly and became the shower. Much easier to keep really clean. The floors were not carpet, which we loved! No carpet means the staff can really clean everything. No bad smells, rooms were really cute. Ours was exotic animals, so we had all kinds of different prints and accessories that looked like we had stepped back in time to the late 40s early 50s and just loved it. Furnishings were wonderfully comfortable, simple and fit the aesthetics. The management and staff were courteous and warm. Genuinely wanted to make sure we had a really good time. If you want to stay somewhere with real character, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckWilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank you Candy & Laughing Horse Lodge!!! We were looking for a quite, comfy, dog friendly place for a few days of relaxing & Laughing Horse was perfect. Our cottage (#10 Horse Feathers) was so comfortable & clean. They treated our dog like a guest as well. Highly recommend this jewel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We do a Girls' Trip to Port A a couple times a year but this was our first stay at A Laughing Horse Lodge and we were absolutely delighted with the whole place!
We'll definitely be staying here from now on!!
It has the feel of staying at a vacation resort from the 50's and the decor is fun and uplifting...perfect for a get-away from the drab everyday life!
Comfortable and accommodating...we didn't want for anything the whole stay as the rooms were very well supplied.
We stayed in #7-Rock'n Horse, a two-bedroom cottage with nice sized bedrooms with ample storage, we had a little galley kitchen with a small dining table and open, adjoining seating area, and a nice patio area. Loved the roomy old-style walk-in shower, too!
P.S...no swimming pool, I clicked that by accident. but you're at the beach...who needs a swimming pool?! lol

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: A Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 503 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Laughing Horse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Horse Lodge is a fun, kitchy, beach style, dog friendly Port Aransas fishing village property. We have 18 units of various configurations from efficiencies and kitchenettes to two bedroom free standing cottages with covered patios. We are not a condo or standard motel but are a unique 1950's place updated with colorful rooms and buildings. If you are ready for a fun beach experience, come on down!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Laughing Horse Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing