We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Pet Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Laughing Horse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & Pet Friendly”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great stay at the Laughing Horse Lodge. It’s not anything fancy but rather it has its own funky charm. Like other reviews-the cleanliness was the biggest WOW factor. You know how it is when you're at the beach-the sand follows you everywhere but you won't find any sand in your room (at least not when you first arrive-you'll track in your own sand later on) PLUS they allow pets but there wasn’t any evidence another dog had ever stayed in our cottage-that is how clean this place is. We brought 2 dogs w/ us and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They gave us little dog tags w/ the lodge's information on it in case one of the dogs got away-so who ever found him would know where he is staying-they also provided clean dog bowls, special dog towels, and treats. Another great thing was there wasn’t any carpet-carpet + beach + dogs=gross. The beach is an easy 5 min walk away OR an even faster golf cart ride. There isn’t a pool at the lodge BUT Port A has a beautiful community pool a mile or so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    128
    17
    15
    13
See reviews for
206
158
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed during our wedding and honeymoon along with our family and everyone of us enjoyed our stay. The staff is amazing, the entire grounds were clean and it's convenient no matter where you want to go. We all rented carts there as well which made it even easier. We wount stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a weekend trip in Port A. We chose A Laughing Horse Lodge for its uniqueness. The cabins are well maintained and clean. Even though we didn't cook there, we did use the frig and microwave -- even the small toaster oven for bagels. We were in Hobby Horse, and the maybe queen bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The full bed in the living room cove was comfortable as well, and we used it for working on the computer and watching movies on the DVD. The shower was extremely small, but water pressure was OK. The videos show the cute chairs out on a patio - - it is a small patio facing the main driveway. That and the lack of a pool / hot tub are probably the only cons. Parking was super convenient and it is a short walk to the beach -- although we drove since a parking decal is only $12.00 for the year and can park on the beach. Enjoyed the stay - and look forward to future visits.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a room with a private patio, place to hang beach towels, wet suit, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationer2012-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantersville, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family were there for the wedding of my daughter. Laughing Horse Lodge placed our entire family close enough as not to innocence us. The rooms were clean and the people were helpful and friendly. I took my little dog with us and they made sure we were provided with all his needs including a tag for his collar in case he got lost. Nice place to stay and feel welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Laughing Horse Lodge is a great place to stay. We stayed in Aug 2012. It is conveniently located to the beach (within walking distance), shops and restaurants. The lodges themselves are very comfortable and roomy. The staff are very freindly and helpful with any info you may need about the area. Very dog friendly, in fact, the staff treated our pet dog Jethro as a fulfledged guest. This place is without a doubt on my permanent list of places to stay when in Port Aransas....in fact, it is the only place to stay. We stayed at Best Western in May 2012 when we were there for our sons wedding because the lodge was completely booked (as it often is). Best Western fails miserably compared to the lodge. Take my advice, stay at Laughing Horse, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The perfect location in Port Aransas! Walking distance to the beach, gift shopping, and a few food spots! Very unique with the colors and layout of the lodges! My girlfriend and I loved it and will be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very nice people, very fun place! Our second year in a row and can't wait for next year! Our dogs had a great time too! The rooms are clean and the location is just a few blocks from everything in Port Aransas.
Wilke Family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: A Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 503 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Laughing Horse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Horse Lodge is a fun, kitchy, beach style, dog friendly Port Aransas fishing village property. We have 18 units of various configurations from efficiencies and kitchenettes to two bedroom free standing cottages with covered patios. We are not a condo or standard motel but are a unique 1950's place updated with colorful rooms and buildings. If you are ready for a fun beach experience, come on down!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Laughing Horse Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing