We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, so glad I gave them another try because they are wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottages at Seashell Village
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here a few years ago and were not very satisfied, but decided to try them again. We could not have enjoyed ourselves anymore than we did on this visit. Gulf Beach Cottages have been updated and the driveway is now paved and the gounds are very well maintained. The deluxe cottage is new since our last visit and is adorable. The Sea Shell Resort kind of envelopes the Cottages on one side and at the back which actually makes the area seem more secure. We could not hear any of the neighboring guests in their cottages. We did hear a couple of really loud cars out on the main road very late at night but it wasn't bad or often. This location is so convenient to the shops and beach that you can walk. Perfect location if you like being in the town rather than out by so many of the condos. Loved our cottage so much we had to remind ourselves we were there for the beach, dining, fishing and shopping. Perfect if you travel with a pet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for The Cottages at Seashell Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

We have stayed at other cottages in Port A before, so we knew to expect modest accomodations and a 2 or 3 block walk to the beach. I used TripAdvisor to find Gulf Beach Cottages because my 7 year old wanted a pool. The pool was small, but shaded on 2 sides. The other outdoor seating areas were well maintained. I didn't see any other cottages in Port A with such nice outdoor landscaping. Even though we were there to go to the beach, it was nice to be able to sit in a cool shady area out of the wind after playing in the surf. Our cottage was super clean and well-stocked with linens and dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shortwave40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The simplicity of the accommodations added to the relaxation. Our cottage was a u-shaped room that included the kitchen, living room and sleeping area. The kitchen was nicely furnished so that I could have cooked if I felt like it, and plenty clean enough to feel comfortable doing so. We did take-out since the location was convenient to restaurants, and had the choice of eating in or in the cute picnic area. Laundry facilities and a pool are available for use in the nicer complex next door. My teens could safely walk to the beach by themselves and our dog loved the cottage. Cute but no frills and a good value,we plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DallasTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

this year,09, will be our 4th year coming back. the prices are good, the cottages are clean, the staff are friendly. we love staying here...its like home away from home. we even have our family staying there too every time they visit port a. its walking distance to the beach and you can also use the pool, its like the best of both worlds for your kids. its a nice desent place to stay with kids, not like in padre where you'll have to tell your kids "cover your eyes" every time you drive by the beach. ive heard they remodeled the cottages and can't wait to spend many spring breaks here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasLuvmykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Overall, this place was just right for 2 couples who only needed a place to sleep for a really good price. Nothing fancy, but it was clean. There wasn't much room for "hanging out" inside, but there was ample space for sleep. Very cold A/C!!!

We only had two complaints.
1.) The drain in the shower was poor, and the shower basin filled up with water. We reported that to Management on checkout.
2.) We had a boat, and there wasn't much room for it in the overflow parking. It was actually a pain to get the boat in and out.

We did find out from the Office that Seashell Village Resort (the owners next door) are planning on tearing the cottages down this fall to make room for additional resort buildings. So.... if you want to take advanage of the cottages and their inexpensive rates, make haste.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froschlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We arrived at 5:50 P.M. to a closed office and found our keys (as well as other guests) were left in a mailbox. The cottages had no on-site management and several cottages were occupied by a group that had already "taken over" the outside area at 6 P.M.. Extremely, extremely loud music played outside until past midnight, and several of the men appeared to be arguing in the parking area outside the rooms. I like to drink and have a good time, but this was way beyond that. There was no one to contact in regard to our unrestful night, other than a message machine. The envelope with our keys did provide the police phone number, and I wonder if this is how this place is "managed". When we left the next morning I told the manager that I had a complaint about the situation from the night before and she indicated that she was aware of the situation and said "you just never know how guests will be". The management should have done something about the situation if they were aware of it. I did not think this was a safe place to stay!
As far as the cottage itself, it is typical of what I would have stayed in back in the the 60's or 70's, but it is now very well worn...but it is clean and the grounds are well maintained...it is more "dingy" than "quaint", but it is very close to the beach. Stayed in Shark Reef Resort the next night and it was MUCH better.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We reviewed the comments on Trip Advisor before we called The Gulf Beach Cottages. We were apprehensive, but decided to chance it due to the excellent prices. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were incredibly clean. I highly recommend #15 of the cottages. The staff were out of this world friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return to #15 if available.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.8 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seashell Village Resort
Seashell Village Resort
#4 of 42 in Port Aransas
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Laughing Horse Lodge
A Laughing Horse Lodge
#3 of 42 in Port Aransas
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palm Inn
Blue Palm Inn
#27 of 42 in Port Aransas
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Double Barr Cottages
Double Barr Cottages
#37 of 42 in Port Aransas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Seashell Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Seashell Village

Address: 506 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5747 (Formerly Gulf Beach Cottages)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Seashell Village Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing