We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in condo 903 for 4 nights this last week. Overall the facility was nice, we had a few minor issues with our condo, water pressure in the master bath sink was a trickle our first day but improved later in the week, rest of the water pressure was fine, just that one sink. We also had the hook on the bathroom door decide to fall off, we were able to get it put back. Our last issue was the bed, it squeaked. Not sure if previous visitor kids had been jumping on it too much or what. All the condos have the potential of a lot of light from the hallway lights coming in the master bedroom even with the blinds closed, minor annoyance. The condo was cleaned everyday, no issues for us with the beds not being made or anything like that. They do leave a piece of paper in the condos that if there are personal items on the beds, they won't be made, not sure if that was the problem for some people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nparmelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpiper M M, General Manager at Sandpiper Condominiums, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We want to apologize for the problems you have described. The Sandpiper prides itself on excellent accommodations and do hope you will be back again. Best Regards!


General Manager
Sandpiper Condominiums
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been coming to Port Aransas for the past seven years and we always stayed at the Sandpiper. The past two years it seemed they have gone down hill. First the staff is not all that great. They seem to not care about you and have attitudes. Don't expect them to clean your rooms and make your bed. All they do id take out half the trash and give you fresh towels. They charge you $10 for a set up pavilion on the beach with chairs, but you have to reserve it ahead of time in the morning usually around 8 am. At 3pm they start to take up your pavilion. Also the beach is not that safe for children. There a cars driving up and down the beach close to your pavilion you ordered. With how much they charge you its not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimClaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This property is nicer than the seagull next door and in my opinion is the best place overall to stay in port aransas as long as you don't want an onsite Restaurant or the party feel of port royal.

But there are some thing that's need to change...
1. The whole reservation system for beach tents is silly. Who wants to wake up at 6am and sit in the lobby waiting for a tent. Find a different way to do this. Buy more tents, space them out on the beach. This is Texas and the next property is hundreds of yards away yet they literally put the tents right next to each other with only a one foot gap.
2. When you rent a 2bdrm you can have 6 people which implies that someone is probably sleeping in the living room. When you rent a one bedroom and they lock the 2nd bedroom, you can ony have 2? Somehow that same living room is now offl limits for people to sleep in. Makes no sense and is just a way to make it harder and more expensive for you.
3. Room service. Come on, for a room that's 400 a night, send someone in to vacuum every day. It's expected.
4. Elevators. Theres no service elevator. If you want to go up or down while the maids are servicing rooms, good luck unless you want to hit the stairs.
5. Rooms are not all equipped well. Our room had a pot and some silverware. That's it. We had to call and they did find some basic kitchen stuff but they were annoyed by the request and told us that we were lucky to get them. Again...it's over 400 a night, the staff forgets this sometime I think.
6. One year a refrigerator gave out. They were somehow ticked at us and asked if we had messed with the controls. We had just checked in 10 minutes before we reported the problem.
7. Wildlife is a bit too far reaching. There are big time snake problems near the grills and pool. I heard there were some pretty serious situations created by this.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike_Austin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I visited the Sand Piper Inn the beginning of August. It was a wonderful condo! Great views, great location, great rooms, maid service was great. The beach was not crowded and was very clean. I have nothing negative at all to say about this condo. Everything you need is provided in the condo and more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thestewarts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a great place to stay, check in is a breeze, rooms are always clean, staff is great and the location is wonderful. We have stayed here 3 times and the only issue that might be is some of the condos are not as technologically advanced as others. Some have really nice TV's and ipod compatible radios and some have left overs from the 80's. But, your not supposed to be inside while at the beach anyway! Our kids end up with more time in the pool that the ocean, so the pool meets their approval. This is a nice quiet place that will not disappoint.

Top tip... Eat at Fins Grill, our #1 restaurant!

Room Tip: They all look at the water! End condos are 3 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justllooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This property is in a great location and has the potential to return to a 5 star experience. Here are some issues that need to be addressed.
* Reinvest in the condominiums. The general appearance of the interior of the condos demonstrates a lack of reinvestment.
* Have enough beach canopies and beach chairs to meet guest demand. The daily 8 am fight for a canopy is a bad process for issuing beach canopies. As is the $10 fee.
* Move equipment between the floors during off hours so the guests can use the elevators.
* Provide enough working cookware in each condo.

Have a nice time at the beach, but be warned: DOCUMENT THE CONDITION OF YOUR CONDO WHEN YOU CHECK IN AND WHEN YOU CHECK OUT. The condo management likes to hit your credit card with small charges a week or two after you have departed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 56538Daisy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I spent three midweek nights with my parents at the Sand Piper, unit 304. My wife and I are fairly particular and wanted this to be a nice place to stay for a special occasion with my parents, and we were not disappointed in the condo, the facility, the staff, or the location... In fact, it was superlative in every arena with the possible exception of price.

The unit itself was immaculate, had a wonderful view, and was thoroughly stocked with everything we needed. My wife loves to prepare meals and found all the utensils and appliances she needed - and even better - in the places she expected. The bedrooms were well appointed, and the beds were comfortable. This particular unit had two king bedrooms, a master and a second bedroom. The second bedroom also had a shared door with the second bathroom, so effectively there were two master suites. The only sleeping problem I ran into was fluorescent lighting outside our unit. I am spoiled at home because I don't have continuous lighting outside our room; the first night I spent thinking it was already morning. The second and third nights were fine. Some units seem to have heavy curtains that block out more of the light; ours had large wood blinds that didn't quite block all the light. The condo common area was well appointed, with comfortable, professionally decorated furnishings. The views in the living room and kitchen were wonderful; we enjoyed them while eating or simply relaxing. I imagine that most all of the units here have this since they are all pointing the same direction.

The facility itself was also very well cared for, and included a lot of nice features. There is a nice sun deck with professional grade propane grills on the second floor which I used two nights in a row; a great feature. The pool looked clean and was convenient; it was usually not very full during the week but started to fill up on Thursday in preparation for the weekend. The 24 hour coffee bar on the first floor was also a favorite; I was pleased they also included decaf. There was also a nice library with a selection of games and novels, and nice places in the common area to read and relax or wait for family members. The path out to the beach was also very well done; lots of smooth surfaces and just enough foot washing and tar removal stations to accommodate all guests.

In our experience, the staff was friendly and seemed in particular to be trying to proactively take care of their guests. Particularly thoughtful was the young lady who brought towels to the large party caught a quick rain shower. Check-in/out were simple; and the staff never seemed stressed or too busy to speak with a guest.

As for the location, it was perfect. Beautiful beach, a good distance from Port Aransas and other units.

In summary, I would stay here again. I gave the condo only a Very Good for value; mainly because we spent our time here in high season. This condo was more expensive than other facilities in the area such as Seagull, but it's hard to argue with the quality provided.

Room Tip: Recommend looking online at the virtual tours to get an idea of which one you like. As for the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonathanBloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
823 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
6.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
354 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
517 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Condominiums

Property: Sandpiper Condominiums
Address: 6745 Seacomber Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4934
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper is the premier condo beach property on Mustang Island, which, in turn, has been identified as one of the 10 best barrier islands resort areas in the United States. All rental units in our premier condo resort overlook the beautiful Gulf of Mexico and whether your choice is a one, two, or three bedroom unit, they are furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, have daily maid service, on site laundry facilities, and a 24/7 front desk service to ensure your stay is first class. Satisfied former guests established Sandpiper's record of having the highest rate of repeat vacation rental customers on Mustang Island. They much prefer staying in a fully furnished beach home rather than a sparsely furnished hotel or motel room. You’ll experience a sense of comfortable elegance while sitting on your private beachfront balcony enjoying the panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico and the Mustang Island coastline. Relax in the Sandpiper heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi or stay fit in our exercise room or on our private tennis courts. Enjoy exercise with the children in our covered game room offering shuffleboard and table tennis or spend time playing games with the children in the comfortable elegance of our spacious lobby. Simply relax and enjoy reading with your family in our lobby library while enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean’s waves and catching glimpses of the abundant wildlife inhabiting our private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sand Piper Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing