We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable stay!!!”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our family went to Port Aransas for New Year's. Our stay was very confortable and pleasant. Confortable rooms. Pet friendly, which is a huge plus for us! Very well situated. We were able to walk to the beach! Heated pool which was fantastic! Hot tub, very relaxing! Great continental breakfast with a large variety of items to choose from. We have stayed at Plantation Suites 4 times before and plan to continue staying there every time we are in Port Aransas! The staff is extremely friendly and has great customer service skills! They made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindiux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

We visit Port Aransas every Thanksgiving with the family. This year we needed a dog-friendly place, so we chose Plantation Suites based on TA reviews. The location is good, but not on the beach, the staff is friendly, and the pool/spa area is nice: that's the end of the good news. We stayed in one of the condos, which was probably very nice at one time, but is in dire need of an updating. The beds in both bedrooms were so squeaky that we all laughed....until every night when we'd roll over and wake the other people up. The fold out sofa bed's mattress is thin and unusable, so nobody slept well for 3 days.
The kitchen had a whole set of issues. The coffee grounds had been left in the maker, there was food stuck to the hot pads, some of the dinner knives were so rusty they couldn't be used, the plates had bits of dried food on them, and when I put them in the dishwasher there was no soap. (They did get us some.) No paper towels either. I was told "Sometimes the other guests leave with them." Does that mean you didn't clean the kitchen after the last guests and didn't notice?That would account for the coffee grounds. Also, the non-stick cookware is so scratched up that it's dangerous to use. Peeling non-stick is really a health risk, so fortunately I had brought 2 cast iron skillets for another purpose which we used the whole time.
There was hair on the bathroom floor that wasn't ours.
When I checked out there was no offer to reduce the rate: in fact nothing was said at all until I mentioned the beds. At that point she said "Yes, we heard about the cleaning problems, and we're planning to renovate the rooms."
My advice: for this price, choose somewhere else until the renovation is finished!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews -- I expected a little more, but I guess it was OK.

-- We had 5 in our party and therefore needed to use the hide-a-bed ... It was not useable for 2 reason - First was the physical condition ( only about half of the springs were in place to support the mattress and many of those were broken ) - and Second was the "ick" of the mattress. After the maintenance lady (thumbs up for her by the way, very nice and helpful ! ) determined it was not repairable, we were moved to a room that was much more up to date (Tile floors and newer furniture).

- The servicing of the room consisted of making the bad and changing the towels, nothing else. If it is a time crunch, leave the bed and sweep/mop the floor and clean the shower would be my preference !

- The location is OK - close enough to the beach to walk if you don't mind cutting through a small field and walking about 150 yards down a somewhat busy street, but it was manageable.

- The outdoor facilities available were not really available. We tried to pitch some horseshoes and lounge at the picnic table, but were greeted by swarms of fire-ants and mosquitoes. Hopefully, they will be able to get that under control - it would have made the evenings more relaxing. we didn't use the pool because of the mosquito issue, but it seemed to be fine.

- The breakfast area was clean and the selection was typical of a motel environment - decent coffee/juices - cold cereals - donuts - etc. They did have a waffle maker and a daily "hot" item. The waffles were good, but the hot item was not that appealing. Overall it was fine for what it is.

I guess I will leave it at that - "Plantation Suites is fine for what it is"

------------------------------------------

On a somewhat brighter note - the dining options in Port A are good. We ate at Moby Dicks and Crazy Cajun and both get a thumbs up. I wish we could have checked out a couple more that I had heard good reviews on !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wspmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

They say they are the "Best Place to stay in Port-A" and that exactly what they were! We were greeted by friendly front desk. Room was very clean, very nice, comfortable and had all the trimmings: fridge, microwave, swivel flat screen, tile, table, everything. We had a family of 6 and all were very comfortable (2 queens and a pull out sofa).

Pool and hot tub were very nice, towels by the cabana.

Breakfast was very good, lots of choices and as they ran out, it was filled quickly.

Minutes from restaurants, clubs, beach...ferry, everything.

I would HIGHLY recommend Plantation Suites to anyone going to Port A. They have become our new Port A residence for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy2badad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was our 6th visit to Plantation Suites. Tracey welcomed us and our room was ready. They are in the midst of updating/refurbing the rooms and, even though we had one of the older rooms, it was clean and tidy with all the amenities in place.

When booking at P.S., we know when we will be staying and always call ahead. We always get the best room rates this way. We have never experienced any service issues at Plantation Suites, found the folks there very pleaseand and we are repeat guests.
We will bring my wife's sister down to Port A and Plantation Suites again this year. She came down from Chicago a year ago, loved the place and wanted to return.
The pool and hot tub are always clean and the place always tidy. The breakfast is just fine...they have a daily hot item, make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juices and coffee. What more could you want.......

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We arrived at 6 PM to check in and were told our room wasn't ready, but that it would be ready in 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, we checked and it still wasn't ready. One of our friends arrived to check in when we had come back to see if our room was ready. Plantation Inn had screwed up their reservation and given them 2 rooms (don't let Rosie take your reservation over the phone, she doesn't have a clue what she is doing). They only needed one, and since both were ready, we ended up taking one of their rooms. The next day, we returned at 4:30 PM and our room had not been serviced. We called and requested service. Nobody came. We called at 5 PM, and again, nobody came. We called at 5:30 PM and simply asked for clean towels, forget cleaning the room. At 5:45 PM, FINALLY somebody came with clean towels. Their "hot breakfast" is a joke. We went into town and got our own breakfast after we almost barfed to see what they offered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gr8things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This is the 6 th year John & I have come to Port Aransas for 7 0r 8 nights in mid February. After the 3rd year we decided the motels situation was not workable and decided to go to Florida. So we started searching the web and could not find suitable reviews for Panama City Beach where we used to go. So we thought we'd search Port Aransas again. We found Plantation Inn & Suites on the web and it sounded too good to be trued, so we called the chamber (3 years ago) and they said it was rather new like under 10 years and that the operators continued to up grade the motel and they only knew good things. So we called and made reservations--that was 3 years ago. We love the motel. We have stayed in motels from North to South and from the Atlantic to the Pacific. We even were motel managers in Colorado. So we have a fair idea of what is good or not good in a motel. The rooms are huge compared to most. All about the room spells "CLEAn, COMFORTABLE WELCOMING. The cute breakfast room is so inviting and the breakfast way beyond the average continential breakfast. There is even a computer for guest use in the lobby. We already have our reseravations for next February and plan to take our feline friend. A good motel makes all the difference in the world for a vacation stay. J & J Missouri

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.2 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: $92 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing