We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slack service, cave-like room, hard pillows=disappointment”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The walls here are pretty thin... within minutes of our arrival, the manager notified us that the people downstairs were threatening to call the police on us b/c our child was making too much noise although he was not doing anything out of the ordinary. The next evening, the tables were turned on us when we were forced to listen to conversation, TV, and random knocking from the room next door.
also, we stayed three nights and room service did not clean the room even ONCE. They came by late in the afternoon on the second day, but we were unwilling to give up our siesta. They returned a little later to hand us new towels...
The decor in our room was quite spartan and depressing---stark white walls and uninspired prints haphazardly hung. It wouldn't take much time or $$ to warm this place up.
Or at the very least, management should invest in new, comfortable pillows. I feel that I need to rest up from my restless 'vacation.' For an average of $170/ night I expected much more.
On the plus side: the location was great. We enjoyed Port A in spite of the Plantation. And, although we didn't use it, the pool looked relaxing...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetSetTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 359 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I packed up the kids and headed to Port A from St Louis Mo. I had booked the rooms at Plantation based on price and proximity to the beach. I always prefer to give my money to small businesses instead of nationwide chains whenever possible. We had rented a King suite with jacuzzi tub for 2 nights. when we arrived check in was pleasant and quick even though we got there at shift change. Our room was much nicer than i had anticipated, clean and neat. the room was large enough for myself my wife and 3 children (12, 4, 1 years old) to feel comfortable in. The microwave/ counter/ cabinet section was nice and the bar sink outside the bathroom was a lifesaver. On the negative side the cofeemaker was only a 4 cup model but they provide the 4 cup folgers packets and there are several coffee stations around the area. The fold out queen was a bit on the springy side but the kids had no real issues. Overall the place was quiet and had a laid back feeling.

The lobby had a small gift area with soda nad some frozen snacks, candy and icecream as well as a microwave. while the pool was on the smal side the kids enjoyed it and there was plenty of seating on the wooden chaise lounges. While we were there they had a guest appreciation BBQ with dogs and burgers for the guests. the breakfast provided was adaquate, juice, milk, cereal, fruit, doughnuts toast, toaster waffles, boiled eggs and a hot item.

Every time i needed info about the area or had a question it was quickly answered in a friendly manner. I had the chance to extend our stay by a night and they jumped right in to make that happen for us without changing rooms.

Don't get me wrong I have stayed in 5 star all inclusives and by no stretch of the imagination is this Hotel on par with those, If you expect that kind of accomodation you will be disapointed. However for the money and proximity to the beach it is a bargain well worth the stay. The staff obviously work to make this a great place to stay. I could see sneaking off for a weekend without the kids and choosing this place and we will definately be using the Plantation Suites as our home away from home when we are in Port A.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asmith458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We flew our light plane into Mustang Beach Airport during spring break and chose the Plantation Suites because (a) it was NOT another stupid chain "McHotel" (where you wake up and say "What city is this again?") and (b) it had a couple of bad reviews here. (We own a hotel, and know that most of the people who post reviews here are folks we threw out for being loud and disorderly, or who canceled at the last minute and were "shocked" that they were charged.)

As expected, it was a WONDERFUL experience. The desk staff were marvelously helpful and friendly, the room was nicely appointed and clean as a whistle (not easy to achieve, with all the powder-like sand on the island), the breakfast was great, the pool was clean (and like bath-water) and -- best of all, since we flew in and had to walk everywhere -- the hotel was within walking distance of several fine restaurants and the beach!

We had two adults and two teenagers, and had a fantastic time. We WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PathfinderPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We were quite disappointed with the first room we stayed in the first night. The fridge was really unusable, stunk badly with fish smells, bed sofa had holes and broken springs, and room was shabby looking and well used. Kitchen burner was rusting. After complaining the next morning, we were given a better room. I can't believe there could be such a difference. The breakfast was good, and the hot tub and pool was great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

When our family stayed at this hotel, we were very excited because of the pictures we had seen on the internet. Upon arrival, we were still somewhat impressed until we entered our room. The tile in the room was dirty, the bathroom had not been cleaned and the trash from the previous guest who had stayed there was STILL in the room! The next morning when we decided to eat the "hot" breakfast, we were once again dissappointed. The "hot" breakfast was supposed to be french toast, except it wasn't even "hot"! The condensation of the platter had made the bread very soggy. All in all, it wasn't a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank familyof5_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

For the past 9 years my family and I vacation in Port Aransas. We always stay at the Plantation Suites. Every experience has been wonderful. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the free breakfast is great, the rates are good too. THERE IS NO WAY WE WILL STAY ANYWHERE ELSE.-- Tom Gibson, Yukon, Oklahoma.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oklahomalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

we stayed here in the past it has really gone down hill we tried to check in at 3.30 pm they would not let us all the workers were verry unfriendly they seemed more worried about there smoking breaks than helping the guests they sit right ouside the back of the lobby door and smoke as guests come in and out we came back at 4.00 pm to check in and they still seemed like we were bothering them at 350.00 dollars a night your condo should be ready by 4.00pm i have worked for the public all my life and never would treat people the way we were treated the room was ok some mold in the bathroom bad smell from condo across the hall no one was there they finally went to clean it and said it was trash that was smelling so bad 2 days later they finally cleaned the room the electrial outlets in mt daughters room were not working right she couldnt plug anything in Idid not dare to tell them there was something wrong one night a worker tride to come in our room she didnt nock she just unlocked the door and started to come in lucky we had the top swing lock on . its a good place to stay if you have pets I guess from the other reviews I have read not so good if you have kids and family if you want to have good time this place has really gone down hill the last few years I dont know if it is mismanagement or something ells it shure needs some major changes i would look around at some other places to stay next year we wont be back ! good luck if you stay here

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank fishermanTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
7.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: $94 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing