We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We flew our light plane into Mustang Beach Airport during spring break and chose the Plantation Suites because (a) it was NOT another stupid chain "McHotel" (where you wake up and say "What city is this again?") and (b) it had a couple of bad reviews here. (We own a hotel, and know that most of the people who post reviews here are folks we threw out for being loud and disorderly, or who canceled at the last minute and were "shocked" that they were charged.)

As expected, it was a WONDERFUL experience. The desk staff were marvelously helpful and friendly, the room was nicely appointed and clean as a whistle (not easy to achieve, with all the powder-like sand on the island), the breakfast was great, the pool was clean (and like bath-water) and -- best of all, since we flew in and had to walk everywhere -- the hotel was within walking distance of several fine restaurants and the beach!

We had two adults and two teenagers, and had a fantastic time. We WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PathfinderPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    100
    54
    24
    22
See reviews for
144
86
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

We were quite disappointed with the first room we stayed in the first night. The fridge was really unusable, stunk badly with fish smells, bed sofa had holes and broken springs, and room was shabby looking and well used. Kitchen burner was rusting. After complaining the next morning, we were given a better room. I can't believe there could be such a difference. The breakfast was good, and the hot tub and pool was great.

  • Liked — nice outdoor hot tub, reception area
  • Disliked — The was worn and run down.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

When our family stayed at this hotel, we were very excited because of the pictures we had seen on the internet. Upon arrival, we were still somewhat impressed until we entered our room. The tile in the room was dirty, the bathroom had not been cleaned and the trash from the previous guest who had stayed there was STILL in the room! The next morning when we decided to eat the "hot" breakfast, we were once again dissappointed. The "hot" breakfast was supposed to be french toast, except it wasn't even "hot"! The condensation of the platter had made the bread very soggy. All in all, it wasn't a nice experience.

  • Liked — The rocking chairs that are on the balcony are nice.
  • Disliked — The WHOLE experience!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof5_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

For the past 9 years my family and I vacation in Port Aransas. We always stay at the Plantation Suites. Every experience has been wonderful. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the free breakfast is great, the rates are good too. THERE IS NO WAY WE WILL STAY ANYWHERE ELSE.-- Tom Gibson, Yukon, Oklahoma.

  • Liked — facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oklahomalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

we stayed here in the past it has really gone down hill we tried to check in at 3.30 pm they would not let us all the workers were verry unfriendly they seemed more worried about there smoking breaks than helping the guests they sit right ouside the back of the lobby door and smoke as guests come in and out we came back at 4.00 pm to check in and they still seemed like we were bothering them at 350.00 dollars a night your condo should be ready by 4.00pm i have worked for the public all my life and never would treat people the way we were treated the room was ok some mold in the bathroom bad smell from condo across the hall no one was there they finally went to clean it and said it was trash that was smelling so bad 2 days later they finally cleaned the room the electrial outlets in mt daughters room were not working right she couldnt plug anything in Idid not dare to tell them there was something wrong one night a worker tride to come in our room she didnt nock she just unlocked the door and started to come in lucky we had the top swing lock on . its a good place to stay if you have pets I guess from the other reviews I have read not so good if you have kids and family if you want to have good time this place has really gone down hill the last few years I dont know if it is mismanagement or something ells it shure needs some major changes i would look around at some other places to stay next year we wont be back ! good luck if you stay here

  • Liked — ?
  • Disliked — unfriendly workers office staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fishermanTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed two nights at Plantation Suites. Overall, it was disappointing and overpriced. The staff could hardly be considered friendly. Later a call to the manager was never returned. 2 rooms near us had parties during the second night of our stay...we were bombarded by loud music, talking, and laughing from 8:30pm to 4:30am. The room was awkwardly decorated and not really comfortable -the entire room and bathroom was tiled, with no rugs or carpet anywhere. The pool was fine, but the hot tub is hard to get into and out of. On a positive note...the breakfast was acceptable.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — parties that kept us awake all night long
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2to4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband, young child and I stayed here one night with our two dogs. I love that they are a very pet-friendly place. Check in was easy. The room was very clean, and had all the basic amenities that most hotels have. We stayed in a queen suite on the first floor and the thing that I was most disappointed in (no fault of the hotel though) was the people staying above and next-door to us were loud. We could literally hear the upstairs' peoples every footstep. Sometimes it seemed like they were jumping up and down. We could hear the next-door peoples TV. I definitely would not recommend a first floor room to families with young children, or anyone that is a light sleeper. Breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular. The pool seemed to have a lot of chlorine in it, but despite that we enjoyed being in there. Overall I would say this is a great hotel for the price. It is in a great location, not far from the beach, pier and restaurants.

  • Liked — Pet-friendly and clean
  • Disliked — Loud upstairs and next-door guests!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewerSouthTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing