We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
“Very comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Really liked this hotel! Beds were very comfortable and ac worked great (which is very important to us). Staff was very helpful and nice. Room was very clean and grounds were kept clean. This is a hotel that allows small dogs (we brought our two), so I was surprised not to smell animals or see dog poop out in the grass. The only two very small drawbacks for us were #1-the shower had very low water pressure so it was hard to get shampoo out of my hair! and #2-the small fridge did not work real well, so we kept most of our cold stuff in our cooler and kept adding ice.
Pool was nice at it is heated but a little small. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello TARA J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! It’s very important to us what you say and how your experience was at Plantation Suites. We will be sure to have maintenance check the water pressure and mini refrigerators to make sure everything is working properly. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay. Come see us again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    101
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
145
86
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Read all the tips before booking. I missed it and we had three people in a king suite with no pull out sofa. Our 6' grandson slept on a 4.5' couch! Didn't work well. Also, though they are dog friendly, there is no place to walk your dog. Property is filled with stickers. On boat slip 7, about the first 5' off the pavement is the only spot on the entire property that is not filled with stickers. If you get a downstairs room, pray no one is above you because you can not only hear them walking, you can hear them. I will say, the breakfast, which is free, is awesome. Whoever does the cooking is great! Our grandson is picky about his eggs and he ate a large helping every morning. The staff is also very friendly. If you don't have a dog, and don't have small children that go barefoot, you'll be fine, just request the pull out sofa ahead of time and don't take for granted it is included.

Room Tip: Room 13 is by the dumpster and they empty it at 5:30 Friday morning! Not really dog friendly since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BransonRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
That's awesome that your grandson enjoyed our breakfast. We do give out air mattresses out just in case you have that extra guest with you in our King Suites. The sticker burrs on the island are bothersome and we are doing our best to find a solution to eliminate them for our property. We are going to put a dog park in the back of our property that will allow our pets to be free of sticker burrs. We all want to thank you for your feed back and will find every solution to make sure our guests are comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Tried out the Plantation Suites for a quick overnight get-away and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and cleanliness of the hotel. Expected a little better than Motel6 but got more of a La Quinta Type room! 2 Queen beds and sofa. The area is very clean and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was a surprise as it offered a little more than the normal continental fruit, bread, and cereal choices. Very convenient to the beaches and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdsholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello pdsholl!

Glad you got the chance to stop by and stay! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a "good news/bad news" review. First the bad news. In all fairness to the Plantation Inn, a portion of our four day stay was over the Easter weekend. That may account for the debris & over-flowing trash cans in their picnic area that lasted the length of our stay. The floor of our room was gritty with the area's fine grey sand. You had to wipe your feet before you got in bed.

Again in all fairness, this may have been fallout from the city's edict that guest rooms rented for two days or more could only be cleaned & linens changed every other day (a water conservation move, I was told). So if you are going to stay for several days, be prepared to make your own bed.

The other bad news was that the breakfast room was a mess & they ran out of some items, but again that may have been a consequence of the high traffic of Easter weekend.

On the good news side, the location is convenient, the office staff was very courteous & responsive, and the complimentary breakfast was a notch above average in terms of selection, They have dedicated boat parking for those that come to fish the bay as well as a dedicated "fish house" in which to clean your catch. Add to that there is a complimentary beverage provided at check-in, Beer, Soda or Water.

All in all, we would probably stay there again, but I would hope that they cleaned it better.

Room Tip: If you stay downstairs, you may hear the footfalls of those in the room above, but if you stay upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Plantation Suites would like to say thank you for stay with us during Easter weekend. We want to make sure that your suites is clean and have the best quality service. We make sure that our housekeeping staff gives all new towels and makes the beds daily. I will make sure that our staff goes the extra mile and double all rooms when cleaning them. I will monitor the breakfast room to make sure we our fully stock for everyone to enjoy. We hope you caught a lot of fish and enjoyed them with your family. We can't wait to see you soon on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

When we go fishing down at Port "A", you have to take what the sea gives you. We were hoping for lots of keeper Specs (speckled sea trout) but the sea gave us 19 Gaftops (saltwater catfish) instead. However, staying at Plantation Suites we always get what we expect plus extras. After fishing all night we usually sleep most of the day with the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. After several days we asked the maid for fresh towels one afternoon and being one short one towel she ran right down and got another for us. What a sweetie!

On the last day before check-out the hot tub was unavailable for 45 min. because the pool guy had to shock the water. Jokingly I said to the manager Shaun, "Well then. In that case I heard that the manager gives a 45 min massage." His reply gave us the biggest laugh of the day when he said, "That's right. Just wait right here and I'll go tell him!"

You can't always depend upon what you can catch, but for over 10 years we can always count on our stays being great at Plantaion Suites.

Alan Hartman
San Antonio, Texas

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hide-a-bed sofa. Be sure and ask for one if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Alan A.,

Wow! What a great comment and review! Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so glad that our staff met all you needs. We are sorry you didn't catch the fish you had hoped to catch, but we are so glad that you had a pleasant stay at Plantation Suites. Hope to see you again this summer!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

first visit to port aransas... personnel at plantation went above and beyond to help make our anniversary trip fabulous. very helpful, friendly and welcoming. nice room, 2 queen with couch, comfy bed, cool air, super cold mini fridge, microwave and separate sink. TV, cable, rockers on wide porch outside room. lots of freebies- gas grills, fish house for cleaning your catch, hot tub and outdoor pool / heated I think, looked nice but we didn't go. free deluxe continental breakfast too. boat parking for $5 I think. stairs were a little dicey - NOT rickety - just be careful with slick shoes or barefoot. great location too, close enough to the beach and every where else. gate access to beach - map in guest book, not sure how far a walk.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daytrypping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello daytrypping,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad your anniversary stay was pleasant. It is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and knowing that we made you happy makes us happy. Come stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

For years the Plantation Suites in Port Aransas Texas has been the absolute best place to stay. Clean and near perfect. Everything you need and people who go out of there way to make it that way always. The food is great and Susan has it out every day for us. It is just the very best in town. The manager Shawn, and assistant Harry, always go out of their way to make everything right. They are everywhere, constantly making this happen. You feel like it is home when you meet them. Katy and Victor do the same! This place is timeless. Perfect in every way. Not even a scuff on the walls. The pool, hot tub, landscaping--all perfect! No joke! Stay here with confidence! You will be treated like kings and queens. It is popular so book early. You want to be here when you go. There are some places nearby but compare--you will agree! You will never meet a stranger when you go to Plantation Suites! We love it!

Room Tip: The management has created the most superb property. Friendly, clean, and a super value for your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the kind review, TexasMonty!! We love it here, and we are so glad you feel the same way. It warms our staff’s hearts to know that they are making such a positive difference in your stay here at Plantation Suites. It’s always good to see you guys! Come back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing