We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Port A!”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
South TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place in Port A!”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband, young child and I stayed here one night with our two dogs. I love that they are a very pet-friendly place. Check in was easy. The room was very clean, and had all the basic amenities that most hotels have. We stayed in a queen suite on the first floor and the thing that I was most disappointed in (no fault of the hotel though) was the people staying above and next-door to us were loud. We could literally hear the upstairs' peoples every footstep. Sometimes it seemed like they were jumping up and down. We could hear the next-door peoples TV. I definitely would not recommend a first floor room to families with young children, or anyone that is a light sleeper. Breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular. The pool seemed to have a lot of chlorine in it, but despite that we enjoyed being in there. Overall I would say this is a great hotel for the price. It is in a great location, not far from the beach, pier and restaurants.

  • Liked — Pet-friendly and clean
  • Disliked — Loud upstairs and next-door guests!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewerSouthTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    107
    59
    24
    24
See reviews for
156
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Since there were just 3 of us this time (wife, me, teenage son) we did not need a condo so I booked the Plantation online. Check in was easy but the mosquitos had the front door staked out! We had a double queen room-2 queens, a sleeper sofa, microwave, fridge. extra sink/counter, small table with 2 chairs. Nice large bathroom, everything was clean. TV had cable channels for everyone. A nice feature was the regular sized trashcan in addition to the puny "hotel" sized ones. Fridge got very cold. There is a small partition between the sofa and the beds. There are wooden chairs and rockers on the balcony for sitting.
Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. A nice touch is that the free breakfast lasts until 10AM instead of the 9AM common elsewhere. Usual assortment of pastries, cereal, etc plus one hot item-the biscuits and gravy were good.
Pool area looked nice (we did not us it this trip) but all the plantings around it guarantee a mosquito problem in the evenings.
The staff we encountered was friendly. Hotel was fairly quiet-the a/c unit under the window helps block outside noise. Pillows were rock-hard. Everything in Port A is 5 minutes away from the hotel.
We were there Tue-Thurs nights at $119 per. Money well spent.

  • Liked — clean, large comfortable room, breakfast until 10AM
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwayhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The place was ok. The cleaning staff left wet towels in the bathroom. One evening after just arriving we received a call. They asked if we had kids in the room and after ignoring this question they said they better "cease and desist" or we would have to leave because of all the complaints about running. First I explained we had just arrive 10 minuetes ago and all children were a sleep, but they proceeded to be rude about it. I was so upset and dissapointed how they had to single out children. I felt the staff could of just said there was a complaint about the noise and that is it. They then proceeded to explain that walking in the room also makes lots of noise.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My family and I stayed at Plantation Suites this past Fourth of July, it was the most enjoyable stay on vacation we have ever experienced. The ladies who operate and manage the hotel were so sweet and courteous, friendly beyond our expectations and they made us feel at home. I cannot emphasize enough the impact these people had on our stay. Even the hard working cleaning crew were all smiles and greeted us as we passed through the lobby. The guests themselves were the same, I guess the smiles were infectious because the guests were very friendly also. One young gentleman even offered to plug in the rented VCR.

We had such a good stay that we could hardly look back as tears welled up in out faces as we drove back to Houston.

I've stayed all over the world and I'd trade lavish and posh for kindness any day and twice no vacation.

  • Liked — what was not to like
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Memeorial Day weekend very busy but children had lots of fun. This trip was planned last minute, we stayed in a Double Queen without a kichenette but it had a small fridge and a microwave. Room was great for the price and very clean, the only thing is I would advise anyone staying to bring your own pillows. The ones they had were like sleeping on a wadded up towel with rocks in it not too comfortable. Breakfast is free great for the kiddos cereal and pancakes coffee and doughnuts/begals for adults. Overall great value.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Plillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

"Romance on the Texas Riveria" package included king spa room (2 nights) dinner and a dolphin cruise. Plus we were given a nice goodie bag at check-in (snacks, water, beach towels, lunch bag and flashlight) Average breakfast, one hot choice each day. Front desk could have been a little quicker to wait on customers. Convienent location. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Liked — Value of packages.
  • Disliked — No carpets in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jms1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay here. Pets were allowed so that made the kids happy. Suite was clean and no smells. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Free internet was no hassle to setup. Breakfast was good. Heated pool was great. Guest were polite. Staff was average. Walls a little thin but nothing that the wall unit couldn't drown out. I liked that the wall units had drains runing thru ground pipes so the walk ways were not wet. Fishing was bad everywhere so we never got to use the fish house. Over all a great place and price.

  • Liked — they give you so much for your dollar
  • Disliked — wish the fish were biting
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATexasRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 20 in Port Aransas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing